Home Forums General Karting Discussion What type Kart should I buy?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      William Butcher
      Participant

Hello All,

OK, First off I am 62, good shape and weigh in at 175 lbs. and just found out I love Karting. I have done some arrive and drive at Orlando Race Park and Andersons Racing Park in Palmetto, Fl. At Andersons, I have done 8 sessions (races they call them, 15 laps.) in Karts that do about 45 mph and.  I am back in NH for 6 months. I hope to get started with the NHKA. They are not a arrive and drive outfit. You must have your own Kart. If available, some dealers that show up at the races may have rentals.  Seeing I’m a rookie, and in Fl. drove on the master class days ( always improving my lap times) I take in Fl. and NH. I would compete in the TAG Masters races. I take the class is the same in Fl. as in NH. Now, just what type, class, Kart should I be looking to buy for the TAG Masters class? Being a rookie, a new  $5000 to $6000+ I feel may be a premature purchase until I see if I have what it takes to drive these completion Karts. So if looking for a used Kart, just what should I be looking for?

I see quite a few used Karts for sale in NH or MA. in Craigslist. Not sure of these. If all goes well, I plan to take the Kart between NH and FL every 6 months. ( Yes, I am a Snow Bird) 30 years of NH winters make me long for a longer summer! Any help would be thankful. Any NHKA racers out there know of the correct Kart to buy, drop me a Msg.

Thanks, Bill

Ossipee, NH

Lakeland, fl

Walt Gifford
      Participant

Any of the major brands 2008 or newer. Just make sure it’s not too scraped off on the bottom and that you can get rebuild parts for the brakes. CRG Road Rebel is a good one.

Gif

FAA certified jet engine and aircraft technician,
      Nicholson Speedway class champion 2001,
      Yamaha KT100 Service Center,
      41 years karting experience

David Cole
      Keymaster

Hi Bill and welcome to EKN and karting.