Home Forums General Karting Discussion What to look for in KT100

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  FREDDY SANDOVAL 4 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Sebastian Sarmiento
    Participant

Hi,

My first engine was a 125 Leopard. I studied the leopards and the Rotax Sr. and was starting to get familiar with them.

Now I’d like to start racing KT100, but it seems that I’m back to the beginning.

Dry clutch?wet Clutch?,

best Brand of Clutches, regarding maintenience and performance?

Every how many hours do they need rebuild (Top & Bottom)?

Best engine builder for Kt’s ?(I know that’s a disputable question)

Thanks!

I wish you twice as much of whatever you wish for me. : )

Anthony DePalo
    Participant

Dry clutch, L&T Mini, Patriot, Horstman and Tomar are all good clutches. Comet and Woltjer build good KT100’s. For peak performance 4hrs on a top end. Club racing you can go 8 hrs on a top end but that’s pushing it a bit. For every 2 top ends do the bottom end. Clutch stall speed 8600-9000 depending on a can or pipe but you can get that info from your engine builder. Always keep the clutch drum lubricated with Tri Flow. Also it’s best to change the carb pumper after every couple of race days.

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

Sebastian

Everything Anthony mentioned is correct

We only use Horstman 2 disc dry clutch and L&T Mini 2 disc dry also For Super Sr Sportsman class.

And yes, please lubricate the bushing inside the driver/drum, and don’t forget the chain lube every session, always keep your chain tension at the proper adjustment.

But don’t worry we’ll assist you at the track, just come out buddy.

Will you be bringing a roller chassis, or you need a complete kart arrive and drive? As I notice you’re selling your chassis?

Either way we can still help you, just let us know. Fast Freddy. ;)

Jim Silverheels
    Participant