Home Forums General Karting Discussion Seat mounting/ installation

This topic contains 21 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  FREDDY SANDOVAL 4 years, 12 months ago.

• Author

Sebastian Sarmiento
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I bought a tony kart that had a tillet t11 on it size large. I’m XL  I have a XL  Ribtect carbon fiber seat that I bought from another member from here that I would like to install.

When removing the tillet I realized that the Ribtect seats are WAY wider than tillets and the frame struts have to be opened up quite a lot.

I was checking this out, which it may help someone in the future

http://www.ntkarters.com/images/stories/karting_resources/SeatInstall0208.pdf

However, it says, that the right frame strut (engine side) should not be bent because it is there to save room for the engine, but does it mean I have to bend outwards the left frame strut about 4″ to 5″???. Also isn’t the seat going to be way off center?.

I’m new to karting and it seems that installing a seat, besides the 65 degrees + or – is way more complicated than what it looks and I don’t want to push the frame too far and brake something I’ll sure regret.

It would be easy to go and pay to have someone install it, but I’d like to learn how to do it and do not depend on shop for everything.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I wish you twice as much of whatever you wish for me. : )

Eric Alexander
    Participant