Home Forums TaG Rotax Max rotax max no low end power HELP??

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      kris kobat
      Participant

hey guys im new to karting, (but not new to 2 stokes or rotax)and recently picked up a used birel rx32 chassis with a rotax junior along with a buddy and my father, here is the problem compared to the other which are all rotax engines mine has zero off idle performance i mean ZERO the kart doesnt really seem to pickup and go till almost 4-5k rpm and even at idle it is notably different sounding almost 4 stroke sounding, so i decided over winter to pull the cylinder cover to see if something was messed up and the piston was cratered like the moon and cover was ruined as well. So i used this opportunity to do a top end rebuild with a new rotax SENIOR cylinder, new rotax evo piston, new clinder cover, set the squish within specs, upgraded to the complete evo kit, and low and behold after recommended break in, still ZERO bottom end power and still notably sound different almost like a 4 stroke chug. only thing different between karts is i have the old style clutch compared to thier new style clutches. but was informed there shouldnt be that big of difference, so i rebuilt the old style clutch with springs etc. still nothing. the kart is running on the rich side with the stock 130 jet but i wouldnt think it would make this much of a massive difference. any help or ideas will be much appreciated thanks guys.

Samir Shah
      Participant

So, have you looked at gearing? If its set up for road racing instead of sprint racing, it might not have torque and might be too long. Also, check the axle, bearings, etc. It is binding? Can it spin freely? Is the brake rubbing or stuck? Is the drive sprocket attached to the axle, or is the keyway broken, allowing the sprocket to spin without moving the axle.

kris kobat
      Participant