Home Forums TaG New to TaG, Issues w/ Parilla Leopard Starter

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Brady Baxter
      Participant

Hi Everyone,

I’m a newbie to the site. Just picked up a used TaG kart that I plan on racing, Comet chassis w/ a Parilla IAME Leopard 125 engine.

After about 1/2 an hour of use when I brought it home, I went to start it again and got nothing when pushing the green button. With a voltage meter I’ve been able to conclude that the battery is charged full, the power pack seems to be sending a charge to the starter motor connector, and it’s definitely getting a spark. Spark plug is wet, and there is fuel in the carb. I’ve read that the power packs can go bad, but I’m definitely getting a spike in voltage when pressing the green button on the power pack.

A friend let me swap on a backup Mitsubu starter motor he had (which we tested and worked fine outside of the engine), and still this did nothing. It really seems like an electrical issue to me, but I can’t figure out what’s gone bad.

Does anyone have experience with a similar issue on these motors/Power Pack starter systems? How difficult is it going to be to rewire the power pack/battery cables to the starter motor? Mechanically the kart is running great but this start problem is obviously a major issue. I’m looking at doing an external start capability, but would also like the convenience of a push button start when I’m unable to get somebody to start me up…

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks,

Brady

Rye, NH

tony zambos
      Participant