Home Forums Shifter Karts New to Shifters…

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Todd Kageals 4 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Brad Alan
    Participant

All,

First, I want to say thank-you to anyone that can provide insight.

I am new to karting.  I have a Honda 125.  This coming year, I plan on taking it to track days and racing a couple times by the end of the year.  I have raced in Yamaha & Tag classes in the past, but shifters are new to me.

Does anyone have any recommendations on where I can learn more about general engine maintenance, carb settings, recommended temperatures, ect.  There are several KT100 books out there to read, but I’m not finding much on the Honda 125.

Thanks for your help, and any direction would be helpful.

Kelby

Patrick Roth
    Participant

Kelby,

What I have found is there are a lot of different thoughts and opinions on everything you mentioned.  First things first, can you give more information such as:

1) Where are you located?

2) 99 or 01 cylinder?

3) Which pipe and silencer are you using?

4) What fuel delivery system do you have?  Swedetech GFS?  Pump around?  Single pump?

5) Air filter or airbox?

6) What type of carb do you have?

Brad Alan
    Participant

Patrick – Thanks for your response.

I am located in PA.

The cylinder is a 99.

Pipe is CKT 4

Pump Around fuel system

Keihin Carb

Air Filter

The kart is setup for road racing.

I’m looking forward to your response.  Anyone else with advise, I’m all ears.

Thanks,

Kelby

Patrick Roth
    Participant

Kelby,

That starts to help us out.  Is this a stock or modified cylinder?  Is the Keihin carb a PWK or PWM (if you don’t know the difference you can do a quick search as there are some pretty easy visual cues)?  Did you buy this kart/motor combination used?