Home Forums Tech Talk New to Kid Karting – Comer 50 to LO206 Conversion Questions

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Matt Dixon 4 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Tim Tittelbach
    Participant

I recently purchased a new  (But paid a used price)  Tony Kart Micro with a Comer 50.   The engine has not been run.   I am brand new to the Karting world and have hopes my 5 Year old Boy and 4 Year old Girl will pursue the hobby.   My local track does not have an active Kid Kart League due to participation and specs a LO206 powered karts.   Before getting the Kart and  in talking with the track, my plan was to get my son some seat time over the next year at test/tune days and not worry about finding a Kid Kart with an LO206.

Now that I have purchased the Kart, looked at parts cost and thought about my preference for 4-cycle engines versus 2-cycle engines I am contemplating selling the new Comer 50 that came with the Kart and installing a Briggs Lo206.   If I do this and Kid Kart leagues do form I will be set and I will also be able carry the engine up through the more active JR/Cadet leagues as he gets older.  My questions that I cannot seem to find the answers to:

1) From a $$$ side of things and my limited knowledge it appears I might be able to do a Comer 50 to Lo206 conversion for an almost break-even  price (Or within a few $$)  assuming I get decent price for the Comer 50.  I am a hopefully competent auto and aircraft mechanic so wrenching cost are not an issue.

2) Will a Briggs LO206 have the same mounting pattern as a Comer 50?  If not, what is involved to make this happen?   A adapter mount of some type?   Welding/Fab skills required?

3) Will I need a new spur/drive gear?