Home Forums General Karting Discussion New to karting

Tagged: 

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  russ Jolly 4 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

Jessica Little
    Participant

I am new to karting was just wondering I have a motor like this on the iame, not sure what one just looks like this one. Was wondering if anyone knew what class this motor runs in at NJMP.

http://www.iame.it/en/products/iame-karting-.html?section=motor&id=32&pass=si

David Cole
    Keymaster

Hi Jessica,

Welcome to the sport. That engine is not used in North America from what I understand. What age group are you looking at, as that will determine what category you can compete in at NJMP. Here are their rules for 2014.

David Cole - EKN Managing Editor

Jessica Little
    Participant

I am 25, I tried to figure out what class but not really sure.  The guy we bought the kart off of said he raced at NJMP And englishtown, he gave us 3 motors and 2 looked like that motor on the previous comment.

David Cole
    Keymaster

First off, take a photo of the engines. That will help. Some motors look similar, so that may not be your engine.

Second, at your age, you have the following classes you can compete in: Senior Max, DD2, TaG Senior, Shifter, Yamaha Super Can, Yamaha Pipe, Briggs Animal Senior, Briggs World Formula.

Since you are new, I would suggest looking into the Briggs World Formula. There seems to be a good following in the Northeast area with that engine.

David Cole - EKN Managing Editor

Jessica Little
    Participant

Hey gif yeah that actually looks more like the motor we have. I guess that’s something I can still run in an open class.. We are only looking at track time right now it’s a big transition from running micro sprints haha.. Not looking to compete anytime soon. Thanks!

Walt Gifford
    Participant

The main thing about a used kart is to make sure the brakes work. I think NJMP opens next week, maybe I’ll see you out there.

Gif