Home Forums General Karting Discussion New to Karting – Question on Classes

This topic contains 19 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Josh Brewer 4 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

Josh Brewer
    Participant

I’m new to karting, and have a general question on classes. What is more competitive or considered to be a “higher” level of karting, the shifter classes such as KZ1 and KZ2, or the non-shifter classes such as KF1 and KF2?

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

Josh
    Welcome to the sport
    Where in California are you located at? And what are the tracks near you?
    Shifter karts may be a handful to start with, as they are brutal to drive, and if you’re new to karting you could get discourage very quickly, especially when you run into carburation problems.

How old are you? How tall? and how much do you weigh?

Josh Brewer
    Participant

Freddy,

I am located in northern California so the closest track for me is Infineon. I come from a motocross background so I am very familiar with a manual sequential transmission as well as maintenance for 2-strokes. I’ve never driven shifter kart however so I don’t have any idea what its like; I’ve only driven the Rotax karts that they have for the karting schools at Infineon.

I’m 16, 135 lbs, and 5’9″.

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

I think in Nor Cal the 3 top classes are Stock Honda Cr125 shifter karts, Cr80 shifter karts, and Tag karts, not sure if there’s still a class for the ICC shifter karts or open class for 125 shifters.

May be worth giving them a call to see what classes are available, and the quantities of race entry/participants.