Home Forums Shifter Karts Need pump around tube placement (has images)

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Randy McKee
      Participant

Need some help re-setting the location of the evac tube on my keihin pwk38   (edit: it’s a pwm not pwk) pump around carb.  A while back the tube started to work loose and I tried to put in back in the position I thought was correct (best guess based on marks on the tube).

It doesn’t really run very well now.  Could be I need to change all of the jetting and test, but I’d rather make sure it’s right before I go to the track again.

I’m hoping someone has the same carb and can measure the location of the bottom of the tube. See pics and you’ll see where you can probably measure the location of the bottom of the tube in the bowl.  I need depth as well as distance from front of carb.

Thanks for any help.

tube depth

tube depth

tube distance to front

tube distance to front

NOAH PORTILLA
      Participant

I have the same carb Im new to this so I don’t know if mine is a pump around setup how would I know for sure .. I still have floats, but it does have a fuel return and has one line going to the engine and one going to the carb… I can get pics if that will help before I tear it apart don’t want to do it if I can’t help you… Thanks

Randy McKee
      Participant

Noah,

If it still has the floats, it’s a stock carb.   The floats are removed as part of the pump-around modification and the evac tube is added.  Thanks for the offer on the pics, but your carb doesn’t have that tube.

NOAH PORTILLA
      Participant

Randy, Thanks man I did some research after I had replied, sorry I couldn’t help in this situation and thanks for the info on the carb…

Alan Sheidler
      Participant

The tube looks to be too high from where it should be in the bowl to me….

Consider that where it extends to is also the top of the fuel level in the bowl.  Too high, and the carb will be in a permanent flood/rich state.