Home Forums Tech Talk Kt100 WB3A on track tuning help

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Lawrence Doty
      Participant

I’m new to the KT100’s
      No history on the carb/motor (craigslist purchase)
      Currently using an open (A2) pipe. But will be getting an RLV3 pipe for next year.
      I rebuilt the carb. Reused the fulcrum and spring.
      Pop off is at 11
      Not sure what the fulcrum height is…don’t have a gage yet…
      I’ve been on the sprint track 2 days now. Day 1 I had the wrong gear and the motor was turning 16k at the end of the straight…changed gears, got it down to just over 14k.
      After doing a TON of reading and searching…I understand about the motor not idling on the grid and bogging under a load coming off the grid. I can turn the low needle in, get it to start and get off the grid, then open it back up once I get on the track.

Now for the fun part…what am I listening for, looking for or want to feel in regards to tuning on the track?
      No EGT but I do have a head temp sensor. Highest I saw so far was 399.

When turning the High and the low needles what should I expect to see/feel?
      What do I want to see/feel…other than better lap times…

patrick hubbell
      Participant

Lawrence, lots of good questions.  pop-off should be more like 9 to 10. I would look for an experienced kart shop and have the inspect the carb to be sure it’s legal. 16K, never seen a KT turn that many revs.  At least not for long.  CHT is almost useless by it self. To many variables. Get EGT if you can. I have to go, will continue later.

Lawrence Doty
      Participant

Downloaded the data from the MyChron to the laptop and realized that the 16k rpm wasn’t accurate…graph had some wild highs and lows. The 14k runs look a lot smoother so those I trust.