Home Forums Chassis & Handling Carbon fiber chassis

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Diego Zometa 4 years, 2 months ago.

• Author

Diego Zometa
    Participant

Hello guys, Im kinda new to karting. looking around online and reading about karts, I found info about carbon fiber body, but no info on carbon fiber chassis/frames.

Why is it that they dont make carbon fiber chassis? Carbon fiber is very strong and lighter than metal.

I know the question to some of you might sound stupid, but again! Im new to this and I couldnt find any info online about it.
    Thanks!

Im second!

Gary Osterholt
    Participant

Not allowed by the rules.

Gary Osterholt
    GO Designs, LLC
    http://www.godesigns.us

Charles Skowron
    Participant

Not to mention a steel tubeframe is about the simplest chassis you could make, and the current karts in that form are still way more expensive than they should be. The price of a carbon chassis would be obscene.

Plus, the strength and stiffness that CFRP can obtain, might not exactly be beneficial to a kart chassis. The peculiar nature of how a modern kart chassis works means that it needs to flex in order to perform properly. Think more in line of  a carbon fiber suspension, rather than an ultra-stiff carbon tub chassis.

I think I recall someone making a carbon chassis as an experiment nevertheless. Not good for karting anyway to put that idea into production.

Charles Kaneb
    Participant

The CIK doesn’t want the ground-effect aero genie out of the bottle in karting. If I were to build a carbon kart frame, it would have a nice big tunnel down the middle and a pair of replaceable wooden rub strips to seal it.

Charles Kaneb
    Participant

Chuck,

Is steel cheaper than carbon fiber?

Design a tension member, 3 ft long, to support 5,000 lbs.

Go to CarbonFiberTubeShop and price out the carbon fiber tube you’d need.

Go to AircraftSpruce and price out the steel tube you’d need.