Home Forums General Karting Discussion Another "new karter, help me" post :)

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Charles Kaneb 4 years, 2 months ago.

• Author

Shannon Rogers
    Participant

I know you’ve seen this post a million times, the I’m-new-to-karting-help-me post. This one’s no different (well, maybe a little different). I’ve been doing research and talking to folks, but you all are such a knowledgeable group so I had to ask!

Background: I have some track experience–built my E36 M3 into a track car & tracked it for a couple years, took the Skippy 3-day racing course, tracked my brother’s Spec Miata but never w2w raced it, now doing LeMons in an E30 (one race, so far, another in Jan). My brother is a regional/national SCCA road racer and I support him at all his races because the track is my absolutely favorite place to be. Although I would love to road race, I have seen the costs first hand and I just can’t afford it.

I did an arrive-and-drive day in single speed 125cc race karts at Sears’ kart track (once Infineon, now Sonoma/Simraceway, I’m old school so it’s Sears forever) and while my back and ribs took a pounding, since the seat was nowhere close to fitting me, it was SO much fun. I’ve decided I want to give kart racing a shot, in hopes that it will both teach me tons and scratch the driving/racing itch without breaking the bank (too much). My husband is a mechanic so can do a lot of support for me, and I have a 3/4 ton diesel pickup so transporting the kart won’t be difficult (it’ll be a dream compared to towing around the enclosed race car trailers!).