Home Forums General Karting Discussion Cornering Question Reply To: Cornering Question

Rob Kozakowski
Participant

I’m no expert.  But there is some very recent advice out there from some of the best that I’ve shared below, where you’ll find one very important and consistent talking point – minimizing the steering inputs…

From David Cole’s latest On-Track article:

“One piece of input that Boswell had for me was to slow my hands down and provide less input into the wheel. He compared me to driving a dirt car, turning the wheel multiple times through a corner rather than a consistent, smooth process from entry to apex to exit.”

From David Sera’s latest Deadly Kart newsletter:

“To be a smooth driver, you need to be aware of the steering inputs you are making and ensure it’s minimal on flowing corners. This will enable the kart to grip to its full potential and your mistakes will be minimal.

When holding the steering wheel, a 9-3 hand placement is the safest option. Also straighter arms when sitting in the kart will minimise the inputs placed on the wheel.”

I’d suggest it’s easiest to understand how this applies on a real fast (no lift) corner, where most of us at some point have added too much steering input and caused the kart to suddenly transfer weight, turn violently, and scrub huge speed, etc.