Home Forums General Karting Discussion Rotax Challenge of the Americas 2015 – Sonoma Discussion Reply To: Rotax Challenge of the Americas 2015 – Sonoma Discussion

Stacey Cook

I would like to clarify a few things. On Saturday when she got into his rear bumper in the exact same location it is ok for Ilavia to try and protest her even though she did not gain a position? However on Sunday when he does the exact same thing and takes over the lead dropping her back 2 seconds that is not ok? The rules clearly state that if contact is made and the driver gains a position there will be a penalty which he did. I guarantee if the roles were reversed and she punted him and won they would have protested instantly by their actions Saturday especially when it was only for one point not the championship.  the officials made the right call and defended the rule book it has nothing to do with who the drivers are or what chassis they are on. When the official came over on Saturday they made it clear that if she would have made contact and gained a position she would have penalized.