EKN Exclusive: Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 26 – Preview Series – KA100 Master

Second year for category in Las Vegas sees defending winner Stone return for possible repeat

eKartingNews.com is proud to present our Preview Series for the SKUSA SuperNationals 26. Leading up to the on-track action of the 2023 edition of the marquee SKUSA event, EKN will preview each of the nine categories that will compete on the temporary circuit located outside the Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas from November 8-12.

Trackside coverage is set to begin on Tuesday, November 7 as the EKN crew sets up our SuperNationals 26 home, roaming the LVMS grounds with Paddock Insider and social media content. Coverage continues into Wednesday as karts hit the track for the first time. EKN Live begins on Thursday, November 9 as qualifying is conducted for both the morning classes and the afternoon divisions. Listen LIVE to the heat races throughout Friday, November 10 and into Situation Saturday, November 11, including the five Last Chance Qualifiers held on the day. That sets everything up for SuperSunday, with the main events for SuperNationals 26 audio streamed live on eKartingNews.com/live and eKartingNews.com/radio.

Complete coverage of the Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 26 can be found at the EKN EVENT PAGE.

KA100 Master

Martin Stone will attempt to repeat as the KA100 Master winner (Photo: EKN)

The KA100 Master class was introduced at the SuperNationals last year, reaching a sellout field following a strong push by EKN’s own Rob Howden. Now, the category is the only single-speed class for the elder drivers in the paddock after SKUSA dropped the longtime popular X30 Master division that lacked numbers during the registration process. That has brought together 45 drivers – some moving over from X30, some returning from last year’s class debut, and new names entering to become the second winner at the SuperNationals.

Martin Stone (Racing Edge Motorsports / Kosmic) wants to keep it one name in the history books under KA100 Master after SuperSunday. The defending inaugural race winner returns for a chance at a second SuperNationals victory, coming off a win at the ROK Vegas event in ROK Masters and runner-up result in VLR Masters. The top-three from last year’s podium returns with runner-up Renato Jader David (Orsolon Racing / Tony Kart) and Laurentiu Mardan (Tecno Kart USA) seeking a win. RJD is a former winner in the X30 Master class back in 2016, placing runner-up in that class last year to cap off a four-podium streak. Mardan was third a year ago, giving him a second SuperNationals podium result in his last four starts.

Ben Cooper among those moving from X30 to KA100 Master (Photo: On Track Promotions – otp.ca)

Among those moving over from X30 Master to KA100 Master includes two-time former SuperNationals winner Ben Cooper (Rolison Performance Group / Kosmic). The British native who calls Canada home was a third-place finisher in his X30 Master debut last year in only his fourth SuperNationals start. His first two were wins in DD2 (2013) and X30 Senior (2018). Cooper won the ROK Vegas race in VLR Master and won earlier at the US Trophy Final.

Another transfer and former SuperNationals winner is Kip Foster (PSL Karting / KF Kart). The popular driver from Australia finished fourth last year in X30 Master, where he has won a record four-times (2014, 2015, 2018, 2019). He is seeking that elusive fifth SuperNationals victory that will put him ahead of Billy Musgrave and Connor De Phillippi. Other international drivers to watch include fellow Aussie Matthew Waters (Rolison Performance Group / Kosmic) making his SuperNats debut, along with Dutch native Nick de Graaf (MMK / Tony Kart) returning to the SuperNationals after missing last year.

Kip Foster vying for a SuperNationals record five wins (Photo: EKN)

Many of the top drivers from the 2023 season at USPKS will be in the field, including Niki Coello, Scott Kopp and TJ Nevels under the Franklin Motorsports tent. Texas Sprint Racing Series multi-time champion Miguel Mier (Orsolon Racing / Tony Kart) finished seventh a year ago, his best result at the SuperNationals in six starts. TSRS race winner Morgan LeBaron (Hi5 Performance / Kosmic) is making his first SuperNationals start.

Other notables to watch include veteran Carlos Calderon (Aluminos), Bobby Kelley (MMK / Redspeed), Tim Meyer (Ryan Perry Motorsport / Tony Kart), KC Cook (Tony Kart), and Stars Championship Series contender Jakab Nyiri (AEM Karting / Kosmic).

SuperNats Stats

1 – KA100 Master SuperNationals winner in the field

4 – Former SuperNationals winners in the field

11 – Drivers from outside of the USA

12 – Different countries represented in the field

67 – Age of eldest driver in the field

Provisional Entry List – KA100 Master

No. Driver Team Chassis Hometown Nation
456 Francisco Barba SLA Racing CL
426 Diego Alonso Bustinza Martinez Factory Fury Motorsport GP Kart PE
495 Carlos Calderon Aluminos San Jose CA US
406 Scot Carapellatti Carapellatti Racing Formula K Olean NY US
416 Kim Carapellatti Checkered Motorsports CompKart Olean NY US
404 Hugo Cence Circuit de Bresse Praga FR
428 Scott Cherry Hi5 Performance Kosmic Midland TX US
481 Niki Coello Franklin Motorsports Merlin Dousman WI US
498 KC Cook Tony Kart Long Beach CA US
429 Ben Cooper Rolison Performance Group Kosmic GB
488 Luiz Cordeiro Sodi Kart USA Sodi Kart Coral Springs FL BR
431 Franco Crivelli International Motorsport Kart Republic AR
425 Renato Jader David Orsolon Racing Tony Kart North Miami FL BR
407 Nick de Graaf Mike Manning Karting Tony Kart Lancaster CA NL
420 Kip Foster PSL Karting KF Kart AU
401 Tom Gerstner Checkered Motorsports Magik Kart Rochester NY US
418 Gary Glanger Redspeed Dallas TX US
423 Jesse Gwin GFC Karting Emmick Antelope CA US
476 Gary Hall HRT Driver Development Kosmic Fullerton CA US
446 Dennis Holler Racelab TB Kart DE
458 Keithan Hutchins Section 8 Racing Magik Kart Keller TX US
424 Bobby Kelley Mike Manning Karting Redspeed Nuevo CA US
409 Randy Klimek AMK Race Products Tony Kart St. Augusta MN US
438 Scott Kopp Franklin Motorsports Gillard Mukwonago WI US
432 Jaime Labastida Kart Republic MX
415 Morgan Lebaron Hi5 Performance Kosmic Bastrop TX US
482 Laurentiu Mardan Tecno Kart USA Tecno Kart Arlington Heights IL RO
442 Abel Martinez Trigueros AKT Racing Team Energy DO
433 Tim Meyer Ryan Perry Motorsport Tony Kart Trabuco Canyon CA US
477 Miguel Mier Orsolon Racing Tony Kart Celina TX MX
414 TJ Nevels Franklin Motorsports Merlin Mukwonago WI US
445 Jakab Nyiri AEM Karting Kosmic Hickory Hills IL US
405 Randy Russell Section 8 Racing Kosmic Odessa TX US
451 Josh Sarchet Ryan Perry Motorsport Tony Kart Scottsdale AZ US
448 Ron Schoonover JH Motorsports Tony Kart Alpine CA US
469 John Stanescu Checkered Motorsports Merrick NY US
496 Wes Steege Franklin Motorsports Merlin Oconomowoc WI US
441 Martin Stone Racing Edge Motorsports Kosmic Dallas TX US
449 Craig Vasquez Mike Manning Karting OTK San Clemente CA US
410 Kyle Walther Hi5 Performance Redspeed Oklahoma City OK US
435 Brandon Ward Leading Edge Motorsports Tony Kart Newport Beach CA US
413 Matthew Waters Rolison Performance Group Kosmic AU
487 Kogan Wright Section 8 Racing Redspeed Odessa TX US
467 Mingnan Xu AEM Karting Tony Kart Chicago IL US
408 Kyle Yuchinski Hi5 Performance Redspeed Spring Branch TX US

EKN Global Members Discussion: