Vortex on the European Podium in Valencia

On the occasion of the first round of the FIA Karting European Championship
in Spain, OTK Kart Group’s ‘engine division’ finishes second in the OK
category final with the VTS engine.

OK – Good start for the VTS engine at Valencia with Jan Przyrowski’s (Tony
Kart Racing Team) fifth place in Friday’s qualifying session, followed by
three victories in the subsequent qualifying heats, six Top 3 places and a
fastest lap. Vortex’s haul increases with the two super heats on Sunday
morning, with two more podiums and a further best lap. The decisive final of
the weekend sees the starting grid made up of around 30% of the drivers
powered by OTK Kart Group’s “engine division”.

In the critical moment of the first European stage, Przyrowski pulls out his
claws: at the start he avoids any kind of collision with his rivals and
grabs the third position, before moving up to the second one, after a few
laps, and staying in the wake of the race leader. At the end of the 22 laps
scheduled, the Polish driver finishes with +0.546 seconds behind the winner
and thus reaches the podium.

The racing skills of the VTS unit allows Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing
Team) to emerge from the group and fight for the fourth place; in the end,
the Italian driver comes close to the Top 5 and climbs a total of 10
positions. Behind him, David Walther (Koski Motorsport), constantly in the
top positions during the whole weekend. At the start of the final we also
find James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team), Ean Eyckmans (Ward Racing), Alvar
Siimesvaara (Ward Racing), Marcus Saeter (Ward Racing), Sebastiano Pavan
(Tony Kart Racing Team) and Maciej Gladysz (Ricky Flynn Motorsport). A pity
for Arthur Poulain (Tony Kart Racing Team), offside at the first corner
while he was running for the fourth position.

OKJ – Also in the Junior category, the Vortex-branded engines are playing
for a prominent place in the standings. Elliot Kaczynski (Ward Racing)
achieves the best time reference in the second qualifying group and is
second overall in the combined classification. And it is the Swedish driver
again who gains a position at the top of the ranking at the end of the
qualifying heat – where Vortex collects four wins and six podiums – and
secures the pole position for the final with a second place (plus the
fastest lap) in A Super Heat.

One third of the starting grid for the final is made up of the engines of
the OTK Kart Group’s engine division. The frantic early stages penalise
Kaczynski considerably, who is forced to give up several positions to his
rivals. The Ward Racing’s driver ends his race in the top ten, as does the
Italian Davide Bottaro (Tony Kart Racing Team), after a positive path during
the eliminatory heats.

Salim Hanna Hernandez (Ricky Flynn Motorsport) finishes close to the Top 10,
ahead of Marius Barry-Berg (Martin Barry-Berg), Kirill Dzitiev (Tony Kart
Racing Team), Roman Kamyab (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Scott Kin Lindblom
(Tony Kart Racing Team), Maria Germano Neto (Tony Kart Racing Team), Alfie
Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Mees Houben (Ward Racing), Alp Hasan Aksoy
(Tony Kart Racing Team) and Alfons Miettinen (Diamond Racing Team).

EKN Global Members Discussion: