EKN Exclusive: Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 25 – Preview Series – Micro Swift

Youngest category set to crown the sixth different winner of event

eKartingNews.com is proud to present our Preview Series for the SKUSA SuperNationals 25. Leading up to the on-track action of the silver anniversary edition of the marquee SKUSA event, EKN will preview each of the 10 categories that will compete on the temporary circuit located outside the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas from November 16-20.

Trackside coverage is set to begin on Tuesday, November 15 as we set up our SuperNationals 25 home, roaming the Rio grounds with Paddock Insider and social media content while attending the 2022 SKUSA Pro Tour Awards Presentation ceremony that evening. Our coverage continues into Wednesday as karts hit the track for the first time. EKN Live begins on Thursday, November 17 as qualifying is conducted for both the morning classes and the afternoon divisions. Listen LIVE to the heat races throughout Friday, November 18 and into Situation Saturday, November 19, including the four Last Chance Qualifiers held on the day. That sets everything up for SuperSunday, with the main events for SuperNationals 25 audio streamed live on eKartingNews.com/live.

Complete coverage of the Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 25 can be found at the EKN EVENT PAGE.

Micro Swift

Rocco Simone enters at the 2022 SKUSA Pro Tour champion in Micro Swift (Photo: EKN)

The Micro Swift category made its SuperNationals debut in 2016 at the Las Vegas Convention Center / Westgate Las Vegas Resort. The class has seen five different drivers from four countries earn the victory over that span, a timeline that has included three unique locations. Now back to the Rio, the sold-out Micro Swift division will crown a sixth different victor come SuperSunday with the advancement of last year’s victor Keelan Harvick to the Mini Swift division.

This year’s Micro Swift field has expanded in terms of global reach, welcoming eight countries represented by 17 drivers. Of the 47 drivers on the entry list, 12 are making their second start at the SuperNationals. Five of those returning drivers finished within the top-15 in last year’s main event, so expect them to move forward. The top returning driver is Jaxon Porter (Parolin USA), who finished on the podium in fourth. 2022 has been up and down for the 2021 Challenge of the Americas champion, as he’s been unable to find similar results this year. British driver Leonardo Gorski (Birel ART) placed eighth last year, while Troy Ferguson (Benik) finished ninth. Ferguson was among the top Micro drivers on the season, finishing runner-up in the SKUSA Pro Tour championship chase and winning the title at the California ProKart Challenge program.

California ProKart Challenge champion Troy Ferguson tied Simone for the top spot in the SKUSA Pro Tour championship (Photo: Sector 5 Media)

The driver to just edge out Ferguson by a tiebreaker for the 2022 SKUSA Pro Tour championship was Canadian Rocco Simone (Parolin USA). Two wins on the season helped the Florida resident score the championship, giving him the SKUSA #1 plate for the SuperNationals. In fact, the top 16 drivers in the SKUSA standings will be competing at the SuperNationals. The field will be stacked with the best Micros in the country. This list includes new SKUSA #3 plateholder Royce Vega (Benik), Jackson Gibson (RPG / Kosmic) and Nicolas Orbezo (IRM / Kosmic). Vega placed 15th last year while Gibson was 13th. Orbezo, a winner at the USPKS series finale, is among the 35 drivers who will make their SuperNationals debut this year.

Other notables to watch include Challenge of the Americas champion Cason Hodge (SSM / Exprit), Julian Sanchez (GFC), Colton Schniegenberg (GWR / Energy), and Route 66 Sprint Series champion Cameron Marsha (Nitro Kart). USPKS champion Ashton Woon (Nitro Kart) is advancing to the Mini Swift class for Las Vegas.

SuperNationals Stats

Jaxon Porter is the top returning driver from last year’s SuperNats, placing fourth at SuperNats 24 (Photo: EKN)

0 – Former winners in the field

8 – Different countries represented in field

12 – Number of drivers with SuperNationals experience

17 – Drivers from outside of the USA

35 – First time SuperNationals competitors

Provisional Micro Swift Entry List

No. Driver Team Chassis Hometown Nation
42 Pasha Ali Parolin USA Parolin Trophy Club TX US
92 Nicholas Ardelean Alessandros Racing Kosmic Parkland FL RO
72 Mikha Barroukh International Motorsport Tony Kart Miami Beach FL US
27 Joao Bonadiman Orsolon Racing / Piquet Sports Parolin BR
48 Matthew Cagle Sanner Racing Tony Kart Escondido CA US
77 Beau Casagrande MPG Motorsport Parolin AU
26 Alex Chandler Iron Rock Motorsports Tony Kart Houston TX US
71 Vicente da Silva Orsolon Racing Parolin BR
32 Santiago Diaz de la Vega Parolin USA Parolin MX
2 Troy Ferguson Team Benik Benik Seal Beach CA US
13 Jaime Garcia Parolin USA Parolin MX
31 Juan Diego Garciarce Parolin USA Parolin MX
11 Jackson Gibson Rolison Performance Group Kosmic Lake Oswego OR US
68 Luke Giglio MottazSport Birel ART Milton GA US
16 Cooper Gonzalez Parolin USA Parolin Hollywood FL US
61 Leonardo Gorski Birel ART GB
24 Bowen Greene Timmy Tech CompKart Gainesville GA US
98 Cason Hodge SpeedSense Motorsports Exprit Vacaville CA US
49 Parker Ives Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Davidson NC US
54 Jay Kostecki AU
34 Miguel Enrique Manzano Suarez Supertune USA Tony Kart MX
14 Cameron Marsha Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Granger IN US
43 Connor Meyer Kart Republic AU
78 Jacob Modjeski Franklin Motorsports Merlin Oak Creek WI US
95 Dominick Moskalenko Exprit CA
80 Liam Nachawati CRD Birel ART Dallas TX US
58 Nicolas Orbezo Tony Kart San Antonio TX US
45 Oscar Padilla Croc Promotion Croc Promotion Fontana CA US
76 Isaac Payn Forward Direction Motorsports CompKart HIghlands Ranch CO US
28 Lawrence Peremen Mike Doty Racing Kosmic Fort Lee NJ US
70 Eli Peres Steinbruch Orsolon Racing Tony Kart BR
23 Antonio Pizzonia Neto Orsolon Racing Birel ART BR
12 Luca Popescu Nash Motorsportz Parolin Dana Point CA CA
21 Jaxon Porter Parolin USA Parolin Scottsdale AZ US
60 Alexander Procuna FLC Parolin Aventura FL MX
81 Matheus Ramalho D2 Motors Kart Republic BR
84 Nathan Ramirez JH Motorsports Kart Republic Oceanside CA US
38 Paxton Romero Forward Direction Motorsports CompKart Centennial CO US
15 Julian Sanchez GFC GFC Sacramento CA US
17 Colton Schniegenberg GWR Energy Colleyville TX US
1 Rocco Simone Parolin USA Parolin Naples FL CA
66 Vincent Ter Horst Parolin USA Parolin AU
29 Indigo Urwin Supertune USA Tony Kart NZ
3 Royce Vega Team Benik Benik Rockwall TX US
40 Braydon Wagner Formula Works GFC San Juan Capistrano CA US
19 Drew Walz RDX Kart Republic Boise ID US
41 Harry Williams Fusion Birel ART GB

EKN Global Members Discussion: