Champions Crowned at the ROK Sonoma Presented by Titanium Sports Nutrition

2022 season is over with 2023 on the horizon

It was a double-race weekend that closed the 2022 ROK Sonoma Presented by Titanium Sports Nutrition as the season concluded with the crowing of champions. With tensions high in some classes as title battles went down to the final lap, other champions were crowned on Saturday with insurmountable point leads.

“A great season-ending event and we are looking forward to next year,” explained Steve Cameron. “A big thank you to our teams, drivers, and supporters for a successful season of competition.”

Read below how the final wheel-to-wheel action of the season went down.

125cc Shifter LTD presented by Altwell

Pat Beckley-125 LTD

A victory on Saturday by Patrick Beckley turned into two race wins on Sunday as Beckley swept the final weekend of competition to assert his name as the driver to beat in the 125cc LTD class. Jim Kidd finish less than two seconds in arrears of Beckley to stand on the podium in the second position as he just edged the third-place finisher of Travis Bowles. While the front three were close on track when the checkered flag flew, Greg Hoff led the second pack to earn himself a P4 finish with Trevor Geter in the fifth position. Courtesy of his dominating season, Patrick Beckley was named the 125cc LTD champion.

Junior & Master 100cc

Max Altman-Jr. 100cc Scott Formanek-Master 100cc

Anthony White scored the race’s fastest lap but came up .222 short of scoring the season finale win. Max Altman took the checkered flag and climbed his way to the top step of the podium with White in second. Casey Moyer completed his 2022 ROK Sonoma season with a podium finish in third as he was seven seconds ahead of Yana Kapoor in fourth, who narrowly edged Dylan Turner in the fifth position. With his second-place finish, White was awarded the 2022 series championship.

Scott Formanek earned the fastest lap of the Master 100cc final as he edged Carlson Calderon for the final-round victory. Despite scoring the fastest lap by more than three-tenths of a second, Formanek was only able to take the win by four-tenths over Calderon. Michael Ting celebrated on the podium with a third-place effort with Shane Howe and David Kao in fourth and fifth respectively. Scott Formanek is your 2022 ROK Sonoma champion.

Mini & Micro ROK presented by SSI Racing

Gabby Guidera-Mini ROK Jimmy Fogarty-Micro ROK

The Guidera name was back on top in the Mini ROK class as Gabby Guidera led flag-to-flag in the 15-lap main event. Pushing hard to score the second fastest lap of the race, Guidera scored the win by just over three seconds beating Mateo Calderon to the checkered flag. With Calderon in the second position, Julian Sanchez joined the front duo on the podium in third ahead of Erik Doan and Brendan Tran in fourth and fifth respectively. Jimmy Fogarty topped the Micro ROK results sheets ahead of Landon Cordero-Dolph in second. The Mini ROK champion was Gabby Guidera and the Micro ROK title went to Landon Cordero-Dolph

Senior 100cc presented by OPI Builders

Dustin Salaverria

For back-to-back days Eddie Shimmon scored the Senior 100cc fastest lap but finished deep in the field. Opening the door for others Dustin Salaverrio found his name at the top of the results sheets with a pair of Sandoval’s in second and third. Gino Sandoval would get the best of Matteo to stand on the second step of the podium while Matteo was classified in P3. Christopher Martin and Michal Michoff finished fourth and fifth with the top five being separated by only eight-tenths of a second at the line. Eddie Shimmon earned the title despite finishing seventh in the end.

Pro ROK Shifter & Master ROK Shifter presented by Altwell

Brian Keck-Pro ROK Shifter Alan Morte-Mstr ROK Shifter

It was a battle in the Pro Shifter main event, and it was Brian Keck that came out on top. Taking the win by a scant margin, Keck raced Alan Sciuto to the checkered flag. Keck was pushed all race long by Sciuto, 2022 champion Ryan Martin and Saturday race winner Oliver Askew as the front four were separated by four seconds at the end of the day. Michael Avansino was the best of the rest in a distant P5 finish. Courtesy of his P3 podium result, Ryan Martin was named the 2022 Pro Shifter Champion. Alan Morte took the Master ROK Shifter victory ahead of Patrick O’Neil who earned the series title.

Senior ROK & Master ROK

Torsten Olsen-Sr. ROK Dan Jones-Mstr ROK

Dan Jones took the round nine victory in Master ROK as he was able to extend an insurmountable lead during the main event. Taking a commanding seven-second victory over Hunter Hagenbuch, Jones was the final Master ROK winner of the 2022 season. With Hagenbuch in the second position, David Palic would cross the line third as the trio celebrated on the podium at the end of the day. Fred Clark was classified in the fourth position, just ahead of Mario Blanco Gonzalez in fifth. The Senior ROK podium was completed by Torsten Olsen taking the win ahead of Colin McGrath and Gino Sandoval. Hunter Hagenbuch earned himself the Master ROK title while Colin McGrath topped the point standings in Senior ROK

For more information, visit ROK Sonoma online via their Facebook page by searching ROK Sonoma or at their website

EKN Global Members Discussion: