Opener for WSK Super Master Series in Lonato Named First Winners

The first round of the WSK Super Master Series ended with a good participation at the South Garda Karting circuit of Lonato. In the weekend of January 30th, a total of 265 drivers from 50 different countries contested the 4 categories KZ2, OK, OKJ and MINI among the fields of all the official makes. The competitiveness shown on track has been great all the way to the final stages and the Prefinals and Finals of each category enjoyed a great weather.

The Prefinals.

The high number of drivers required two Prefinals for each category.

The Italian Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont) has been leading the weekend since the beginning and kept his momentum winning OK’s Prefinal-A, while Prefinal-B was won by the Finn Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex), who proceeded the Pole Gustaw Wisniewski (Forza Racing/Exprit-TM Racing) that completed a good recovery race.

MINI. The Czech Jindrich Pesl (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) won Prefinal-A fending off the attacks of the Swiss Kilian Josseron (Team Driver/KR-Iame), while Prefinal-B ended with the sprint to the line won by the Spanish driver Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing).

KZ2. Prefinal-A of KZ2 was won by the German David Trefilov (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM Racing-Vega), who already had the upper hand in qualifying practice and heats. Prefinal-B was dominated by the Dutch Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing).

OKJ. In OK-Junior the Dutch René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) did not have any problem to win Prefinal-A, while Prefinal-B saw the surprising recovery and victory of the Hungarian Adam Hideg (DPK Racing/KR-Iame) at the end of an exciting battle.

The Finals.

The Italian Luigi Coluccio rounded off the weekend taking a great victory in OK.

OK was dominated by the Italian Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont), who led the Final from lights to flag. Behind Coluccio, the Brit Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn/LN-Vortex) proceeded the Pole Gustaw Wisniewski (Forza Racing/Exprit-TM Racing), who ended his recovery race on the podium. The Finn Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) has also been among the protagonists but had to settle for P4 leading his team mate from America, Luis James Egozi.

OK Final Classification:

Luigi Coluccio (ITA)

Freddie Slater (GBR)

Gustaw Wisniewski (POL)

Victory to the Belgian Dries Van Langendonck in MINI.

The final of MINI had a surprising end as the Belgian Dries Van Langendonck (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) managed to win the sprint to the line from the Czech Jindrich Pesl (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) to the Spaniard Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing) that exchanged on the lead until the closing two laps. The fourth place went to the Italian Filippo Sala (Team Driver/KR-Iame), who has always been among the quickest, the fifth to the Czech Oliver Palocko (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame).

MINI  Final Classification:

Dries Van Langendonck (BEL)

Jindrich Pesl (CZE)

Christian Costoya (ESP)

The Dutch Senna Van Walstijn takes another win in KZ2.

The Dutch Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing-Vega) eventually managed to win again repeating the victory claimed one week ago on the occasion of the WSK Champions Cup. Started from the top, Van Walstijn kept the lead for the whole race. His most credited rival, the German David Trefilov (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM Racing), was third as he was overtaken in the closing stages also by the excellent Spanish driver Pedro Hiltbrand (BirelART Racing/BirelArt-TM Racing), who recovered 11 places. The French Jeremy Iglesias (CRG Racing Team/CRG-TM Racing) ended fourth, while the Italian Giuseppe Palomba (BirelART Racing/BirelArt-TM Racing) was fifth.

KZ2 Final Classification:

Senna Van Walstijn (NLD)

Pedro Hiltbrand (ESP)

David Trefilov (DEU)

The Dutch René Lammers on the top step of the OKJ podium.

The final of OK-Junior was dominated by the Dutch René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) from lights to the final lap or, more precisely, to the last corner, when Ukraine’s Oleksandr Bondarev (Rycky Flynn/LN-Vortex) attacked him and managed to cross the finish line on top. Bondarev lost his front fairing in the manoeuvre and therefore was handed a 5s time penalty that relegated him to the fourth place. The first place went back to René Lammers, who celebrated on the top step of the podium. The other two podium positions went to the Russians Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex) and Kirill Kutskov (BirelART Racing/BirelART-TM Racing). The fifth went to the Brazilian Miguel Costa (Sauber Academy/KR-Iame).

OKJ Final Classification:

René Lammers (NLD)

Dmitry Matveev (RUS)

Kirill Kutskov (RUS)

The next round, again in Lonato, will be the second round of WSK Super Master Series on February, 10-13, 2022. The final two rounds of the series will then follow on March 6th in La Conca (Lecce) and March 13th in Sarno (Salerno).

Complete results:

North American Report

Three drivers from North America made the main event in the Mini category. USA driver Jack Iliffe (Parolin Motorsport) recorded the best finish of the trio. Iliffe fought forward in the heat races after qualifying 34th, up to 22nd. A ninth-place finish in Prefinal B helped to keep the outside row 11 starting position for the Final. Iliffe was among the hard-chargers of the main event, climbing 11 spots to end up 11th in the 10-lap Final.

Ilie Tristan Crisan (Gulstar Racing) was the top performer for Canada. Crisan qualified 12th overall and came out of the heat races classified 20th. He finished one spot behind Iliffe in the Prefinal B to earn an inside Row 11 spot in the Final alongside the USA driver. Crisan was able to gain four positions in the Final to end up 17th, just outside the championship points.

Current SKUSA Winter Series Micro Swift point leader Alessandro Truchot (Parolin Motorsport) – racing under the French flag – made the main event in Mini. Truchot held the 26th position after qualifying and the heat races, earning a best finish of fourth in one of his five heats. He gained one spot for the Final after placing 11th in the Prefinal B, directly behind Iliffe and Crisan. Starting from inside Row 13, Truchot was shuffled back on the opening circuit, driving to a 31st place finish.

Vivek Kanthan (AVRacing) also represented North America in the Mini class. Kanthan (USA) qualified 56th, however four poor finishes in the heat races cost him a chance at moving on to the Prefinal round of the event.

James Egozi (Tony Kart Racing Team) was the lone North American driver in the OK division, making his debut in the category. Egozi qualified 16th and was able to improve in the heats with two top-five finishes in three of the races. That put him 8th in the heat classification and holding that position through the Prefinal B, and earning the P7 starting spot for the Final. Egozi ran as high as second in the 21-lap race, ending up fifth in his Senior debut.

EKN Global Members Discussion: