EKN Exclusive: Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 24 – Preview Series – Micro Swift

Youngest drivers of the event set to crown new winner

eKartingNews.com, the Official Media Partner of Superkarts! USA, is proud to present our Preview Series for the SKUSA SuperNationals 24. Leading up to the on-track action of the 24th edition of the marquee SKUSA event, EKN will preview each of the nine categories over six days that will compete on the temporary circuit located just outside the Las Vegas Motor Speedway from December 1-5.

Trackside coverage is set to begin on Tuesday, November 30 as we set up our SuperNationals 24 home, roaming the LVMS grounds with Paddock Insider and social media content. Our coverage continues into Wednesday as karts hit the track for the first time. EKN Live begins on Thursday, December 2 as qualifying is conducted for both the morning classes and the afternoon divisions. Listen LIVE to the heat races throughout Friday, December 3 and into Situation Saturday, December 4, including the three Last Chance Qualifiers held on the day. That sets everything up for SuperSunday, with the main events for SuperNationals 24 streamed live on eKartingNews.com/live.

Complete coverage of the Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 24 can be found at the EKN EVENT PAGE.

Micro Swift

2021 Pro Tour champion Gianmatteo Rousseau leads the top contenders for victory at SuperNats 24 (Photo: EKN)

A fifth name will be added to the history books on SuperSunday when the final checkered flag waves for the Micro Swift main event. The sold out 48-driver field features no former winner, with all but three drivers making their SuperNationals debut. In the past, the Micro drivers have kept their heads on over the course of the event with no major issues. We hope to see the same for the international field, including six different countries with 16 drivers from outside the USA.

Of the three drivers returning, one includes the 2021 SKUSA Pro Tour champion Gianmatteo Rousseau (Nitro Kart). Rousseau came away with the series championship based off the two wins from the WinterNationals. He went podium-less the remainder of the season. Third in the standings for 2021 was Tristan Murphy (Nitro Kart). Murphy picked up his first Pro Tour victory at the SpringNationals, landing on the podium two more times and also won the California ProKart Challenge championship.

USPKS champion Keelan Harvick looking to add to a solid 2021 CV (Photo: EKN)

Over the course of the six rounds, five different drivers grabbed their first SKUSA Pro Tour victory. Phaethon Saradpon (Kart Republic) won at the SpringNationals as well, finishing the season fourth in points. United States Pro Kart Series champion Keelan Harvick (Nitro Kart) won the series finale at New Castle, finishing fifth in the final standings competing in just four rounds. Also racing in four rounds was Lucas Palacio (CompKart), winning at the SummerNationals and standing on the podium once at the SpringNats.

Alessandro Truchot (Parolin) is the third other driver with SuperNationals experience, and is counting on the trips to Europe to race can help for Vegas. The Tovo brothers of Ethan (Nitro Kart) and Jackson (Nitro Kart) help add to the east coast contenders traveling west, with Ethan scoring a Route 66 Sprint Series championship. Several drivers from the west coast should be in contention throughout the weekend, including Ashton Woon (Nitro Kart), Challenge of the Americas champion Jaxon Porter (Nitro Kart), Troy Ferguson (Benik), Mateo Calderon (Aluminos) and Rhys Bowman (CompKart). Oregon driver Jackson Gibson (Kosmic) has been showing well on the east coast toward the second half of the season and could be among those fighting for a podium position on SuperSunday.

Alessandro Truchot is among those looking for a breakout victory on SuperSunday (Photo: EKN)

SuperNationals Stats

0 – Former winners in the field

3 – Number of drivers with SuperNationals experience

6 – Different countries represented in field

16 – Drivers from outside of the USA

45 – First time SuperNationals competitors

Provisional Micro Swift Entry List

No. Driver Team Chassis Hometown Nation
27 Benym Abernethy Franklin Motorsports Merlin Elm Grove WI US
47 Rhys Bowman Forward Direction Motorsports CompKart Commerce City CO US
48 Matthew Cagle Sanner Racing Haase Escondido CA US
98 Mateo Calderon Aluminos Aluminos San Jose CA US
20 Sebastian Cortes Team Benik Benik Canyon Lake CA US
24 Rodney Dowless, Jr. Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Dix Hills NY US
84 Keegan Ellsworth Formula Works GFC Cherry Valley CA US
77 Nixon Ellsworth Formula Works GFC Cherry Valley CA US
43 Troy Ferguson Team Benik Benik Seal Beach CA US
51 Kingston Gadoury Raceworx Motosport/CRG Ontario CRG CA
14 Jaime Garcia Parolin USA Parolin MX
21 Juan Diego Garciarce Parolin USA Parolin MX
42 Jackson Gibson Rolison Performance Group Kosmic Lake Oswego OR US
68 Luke Giglio Leading Edge Motorsports Formula K Milton GA US
61 Leonardo Gorski Birel ART GB
62 Keelan Harvick Team Harvick Nitro Kart Harrisburg NC US
10 Parker Ives Fullerton USA Fullerton Davidson NC US
30 Paolo Jauregui Rolison Performance Group Kosmic MX
69 Edward Kennedy Parolin CA
55 William Kim Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Darien CT US
76 Bronson Koustas Parolin Newport Beach CA US
97 Steffany Miller CDR Energy Tierra Verde FL US
3 Tristan Murphy Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart College Grove TN US
70 Luis Fernando Nunez HRI Mexico Parolin MX
25 Lucas Palacio J3 Competition CompKart Vienna VA US
40 Juan Jose Paramo HRI Mexico Parolin MX
29 Jackson Pearsall PSL Karting Birel ART CA
26 Jesse Philips Team Benik Benik GB
11 Luca Popescu Kartplex TB Kart CA
12 Jaxon Porter Ruthless Karting Nitro Kart Scottsdale AZ US
66 Alexander Procuna Parolin USA Parolin MX
90 Karol Robles Mejia HRI Mexico Parolin MX
17 Marco Romero SLA Kart Racing Benik Orlando FL VE
1 Gianmatteo Rousseau Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart PA
15 Theo Salomao Orsolon Racing Parolin BR
32 Julian Sanchez Leading Edge Motorsports Formula K Sacramento CA US
85 Phaethon Saradpon AKT Kart Republic Relay MD US
88 Lillian Scarbrough Kosmic Peachtree City GA US
23 Betty Schmidt Speed Factory Nitro Kart Santa Barbara CA US
63 Tyren Scott Ryan Perry Motorsport Kart Republic San Diego CA US
95 Rocco Simone Mottazsport Birel ART CA
67 Shane Stern Mike Doty Racing Tony Kart Fairfield CT US
13 Ethan Tovo Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Warrenville IL US
31 Jackson Tovo Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Warrenville IL US
19 Alessandro Truchot Parolin USA Parolin Miami Beach FL US
33 Royce Vega Team Benik Benik Rockwall TX US
16 Max Weiland Checkered Motorsports Magik Westlake OH US
89 Ashton Woon DDW Partners Auto Sales Nitro Kart Scottsdale AZ US

EKN Global Members Discussion: