Drollinger, Bohle, and the Bishops Win So Cal Oval Karters Races at Perris Auto Speedway

Bryan Drollinger, Tyler Rose Bohle, and Jason & Lauren Bishop were the big winners at the  SoCal Oval Karters race on September 26 at the world-famous  Perris Auto Speedway.  The SCOK next appears at the PAS on Sunday, October 24th .

In the YOA Racing KT100s, Michael Cangelosi was attempting to pick up his first class win in the 16-lap main event.  It looked like he had a good chance as he was starting on the pole.  He got the jump on the start over Drollinger, and class point leader Luis Calderon of Whittier.  Art Laski Jr. of Temecula found his way into the top three when he went to the inside and passed Calderon for third on lap two.  Cangelosi continued to lead, but he had Drollinger, and Laski locked in right behind him.  However, when he came off the second corner on the sixth circuit, he suddenly slowed.  Drollinger, Laski and Calderon took quick action and missed Cangelosi who broke a chain.  The action was not over on lap six as moments later Laski slid sideways in turn three before gathering it back in and continuing.  But, he lost two spots.

By the halfway point in the KT100 main, Drollinger, who resides in Torrance, had a half straight lead.  That lead dissolved on lap 11 when Calderon, who was racing a Scott Bohle owned kart for the first time, spun in turn four and brought out the only caution flag of the race.  Once the race restarted, it went green to checkered without interruption.  Drollinger pulled away throughout the final laps for a half straightaway length victory.  Laski and Collins finished second and third.  Fourth and breathing down Collins tailpipe at the finish was Jimmy Voitel.  However, when weighed after the race, Voitel’s car was underweight and he was disqualified.  That moved Calderon up to fourth and Sam Gentry to fifth.

The victory gave Drollinger a clean sweep of the KT100s on the day as earlier he won both heats.  Heading into the October 23rd race, Calderon is still the points leader, but Drollinger is only five-points behind.

Hesperia’s Chris Southern, who had won all but one main event in the Rogue Specialties Open Class this year, was absent on race day.  That threw the class wide open and San Diego’s Jason Bishop took full advantage of the opportunity presented.  He led every inch of the way in the 16-lap main.  The race looked like a Formula 1 race at Indy as it was void of passing.  The only pass was when Bryan King dropped out of the race.  At the checkers, Bishop had about a seven-kart length lead over Scott Rogers.  “Hubcap” Mike Collins of Lake Forest was third with El Cajon’s Marty Wolf and Brian Pusey of San Diego rounding out the top five.

Before the Open main, Bishop and Rogers split the two heat race victories.  As mentioned earlier, Southern had captured all but one of the previous main events of the year and led the point standings all season.  However, his absence dropped him from first back to third.  Rogers is the new point leader with Wolf nine-points behind in second.  Southern is 12-points behind the leader and is only one ahead of fourth place Collins and two in front of fifth place Bishop.

Tyler Rose Bohle of Fountain Valley swept the show in the Burris Racing F200s winning both eight-lap heats and the 16-lap main event.  The victory sees Bohle heading into the final points race four-markers ahead of main event second-place finisher Norm Reynolds of San Marcos.  Anaheim’s Jason Erickson finished third in the main event and is third in the championship standings.

Point leader Lauren Bishop of San Diego joined her dad on the top step of the victory podium after sweeping the Junior Clone class.  Tristan Juillerat of Whittier placed second to Bishop in the heats and the main event and is six-points behind her going into the race in two weeks time.

Dale Gamer of Anaheim, who won a Sprint Car main event the night prior on the half-mile at Perris Auto Speedway, ran alone and took a trophy home in the Caymus Vineyards Senior Clones.  El Cajon’s George Wolf in the SR L206 and Michael Cangelosi in the Junior/Juniors also ran alone and took home trophies.

The spec station where all fuel is to be purchased is the 76 station located in Perris at 19248 Harvill Avenue (92570).

To keep up with the So Cal Oval Karters on Facebook, please use the following link:  https://www.facebook.com/search/str/so+cal+oval+karters/keywords_search

EKN Global Members Discussion: