ROK Sonoma Presented by Sanzaru Continues to Roll Through 2020 Crowning New and Returning Winners This Past Weekend

The ROK Sonoma Presented by Sanzaru continues to roll along as last weekend marked the third round in the revised 2020 schedule. Taking on the famed Sonoma Raceway facility, it was time for previous race winners to stake their claim and quest for the series championship while new winners emerged to find their way to the top step of the podium. With three events now complete, the chase for the championships are in full swing.

Master ROK Shifter

Kevin Woods claimed the Master ROK Shifter pole position and followed that up with a pair of heat race wins as he looked to sweep the day but an unfortunate issue in the main event sent him down the running order and opened the door for Neil Joseph. Joseph was steadily in the top three throughout the day but put together the on-track session that counted the most to take the win. Travis Bowles crossed the line in the second position while Marcin Kloda took advantage of other drivers’ incidents to finish third, Josh Buttafoco scored the fastest lap of the days main event.

125 Shifter Limited & 80 Masters

It was a two kart show in the 125cc Shifter Limited main event as Stephan Gaudreau and Dee Baldwin were the class of the field. With the front tow separating themselves from the third-place competitor by more than six seconds when the checkered flag flew, Gaudreau would score the victory while Baldwin wound up on the second step of the podium despite scoring the fastest lap of the main event. Steven Piggott out dueled Roger Cornwall for the third position as the third to fifth place competitors were separated by only sixth tenths of a second at the end of the race. Richard Hilleman rounded out the top five.

Tom Nelson was the driver to beat in the 80cc Masters class as he went on to sweep the day scoring the pole position, two prefinal wins and the main event victory as well as he earned the fastest lap of the race. Dave Holstein add a second-place finish to his 2020 total as Marc Stanley crossed the line in third.

Mini ROK & Mini Swift

It was another victory for Christian Cameron the Vortex Mini ROK class as the dominant driver in the division added another win to his resume. Taking the checkered flag by a 3.540 margin, Cameron was the victor as pole position winner Alex Rantala and Anthony White finished on the second and third steps of the podium respectively while Andrew Freire and Keegan Palic rounded out the top five. Cameron also earned the fastest lap of the race honors. In the Mini Swift category, Casey Moyer scored the race win as Gabby Guidera finished second.

Micro ROK & Micro Swift

Mateo Calderon dominated the Micro ROK class to take a commanding race win over the rest of the field. Claiming the fastest lap by nearly six tenths of a second, Calderon drove to a nearly twelve second win over Landon Cordero-Dolph. Maxwell Sidebotham managed to garner the third and final step on the podium while Cason Hodge was classified in fourth. In the Micro Swift division, Brody Budelli took the top step of the podium ahead of Giuseppi Guidera and Julian Sanchez.

Senior & Masters 100cc

In the combined Senior and Master 100cc class Nick Short turned the fastest lap of the final to drive off to the race win. Showing his speed and pulling away from the rest of the field, Short secured the overall victory by 5.719 over JC Perez and James Monaco who was the top finisher in the Master class. Kevin Moore finished fourth on track and second in Masters just ahead of Ivan Lvov.

Junior 100cc

Chase Hand turned his pole position into a win in the 100cc Junior class beating the fastest driver in the main event in Stephen Eisert to the line. With the front duo finishing nearly seven seconds ahead of their closest rivals. Hand and Eister stood on the podium in first and second as Gino Sandoval, Matthew Fecko and Jack Schrady finished third through fifth respectively.

Senior ROK & Master ROK

Ryan Martin dominated the eighteen lap Senior ROK main event to add to his 2020 results sheet. Claiming the win ahead of second place finisher Tyler Snow, the duo was joined on the podium by Jack Harmuth who finished third. Arul Venkatesh was classified in the fourth position as Mario Blanco rounded out the top five. David Palic was the victor in the Master ROK category. Ryan Martin also went on to secure the pole position in the one and only qualifying session.

Senior ROK Shifter

While Hunter Pickett took home fast lap honors in the days finale as well as the pole position in the morning, he would only find himself in the second position on track as he was one position behind race winner Brenden Ruzbarksy when the final results were published who improved from his fourth place qualifying effort. Aidan O’Neill slotted himself into the third position just ahead of Cole Shade and Bryson Lew in fourth and fifth respectively.

With the National Clockwise configuration confirmed for round four the next event in the ROK Sonoma Presented by Sanzaru program is slated for September 12th and 13th in conjunction with the California ROK Championship event. With the ROK Fest West event utilizing the same track configuration, ROK Sonoma is expecting a huge influx in entries. For more information, visit ROK Sonoma Presented by Sanzaru online via their Facebook page by searching ROK Sonoma or at their website

EKN Global Members Discussion: