EKN Exclusive: Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 23 – Preview Series – Micro Swift

Young group of IAME drivers set new class entry record featuring majority of first-time starters

eKartingNews.com, the Official Media Partner of Superkarts! USA, is proud to present our Preview Series for the SKUSA SuperNationals 23. Leading up to the on-track action of the 23rd edition of the marquee SKUSA event, EKN will preview each of the 12 categories in the 10 race groups that will compete on the temporary circuit located just outside the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino from November 20-24.

Complete coverage of the Superkarts! USA SuperNationals 23 can be found at the EKN EVENT PAGE. EKN Live will provide play-by-play and live timing from qualifying through to the final checkered flag on SuperSunday at ekartingnews.com/live

For more preview coverage, be sure to check the EKN Radio Network for the airing of two shows that will broadcast leading up to the SKUSA SuperNationals 23. The two shows will provide EKN’s Rob Howden and David Cole with the opportunity for a more in-depth look at each of the entry lists and top-five predictions for all 12 classes.

Logan Chambers is the top returning finisher from SuperNats 22 (Photo: EKN)

A pre-entry total of 45 drivers have set a new record in the Micro Swift division at the SKUSA SuperNationals. The class was added to the SKUSA Pro Tour and SuperNationals back in 2016, and this grid will be the largest ever. Brazilian Vinicius Tessaro was the inaugural winner while Great Britain’s Vinnie Phillips earned the victory in 2017. Last year, American Ben Maier kept the title in the USA to make it three different countries represented by the winners over the first three years. The 2019 battle could provide a fourth as drivers representing eight different countries fill the field. A defending race winner is not available this time around, as Maier has graduated to the Mini Swift category, thereby opening the door for a fourth different winner in as many years.

In addition to the absence of defending winners, only 12 drivers in the field competed at last year’s SuperNationals in the Micro Swift category. The highest returning finisher from 2018 is the lone driver who has competed in two races at the SuperNationals – Logan Chambers. The Californian finished 27th in 2017 and 11th last year. Chambers (PKS / Ricciardo) is one of the five winners on the year at the SKUSA Pro Tour, earning the runner-up position in the championship chase after winning at the WinterNationals back in March. The Micro Swift title was earned by two-time race winner Jack Iliffe (IRM / Tony Kart). The Texan won both main events at the SpringNationals in Utah to ride the wave of momentum to the championship. Iliffe placed 31st in last year’s SuperNationals, and will certainly have designs on the podium and the win this time around. The other winner at the WinterNationals was Graham Trammell (RPG / Kosmic), although he will not be competing in Las Vegas.

SKUSA Pro Tour champion Jack Iliffe hopes to add a SuperNats victory to his 2019 resume (Photo: EKN)

Spencer Conrad and Aryton Grim complete the list of 2019 SKUSA Pro Tour winners, as both scored a main event victory at the SummerNationals in August. They were 1-2 in the USPKS title chase as well, with Grim earning the title. Conrad took home the WKA Manufacturers Cup Series crown, so title winners are aplenty in this class. Grim finished 16th at the SuperNats a year ago while Conrad is hoping to improve on his DNF from 2018.

Among the international drivers in the Micro field is the son of three-time SuperNationals winner Leonardo Nienkotter. Brazilian Enzo Beltrao Nienkotter (CRG Nordam) has seen his father on the top step of the podium, and he made his SuperNats debut last year with a 14th place finish. The country with the most drivers aside from the USA is Australia. Among them are twin brothers Jaxson and Jenson Burns, racing with KartSport North America aboard Kart Republic chassis. The Slater family from Great Britain competed at the SKUSA Pro Tour level, with Freddie Slater earning the X30 Junior title. His younger brother Alfie Slater (Supertune / Tony Kart) finished seventh in the SKUSA Pro Tour standings, and is making his second SuperNats start. Brazilian Enzo Vidmontiene (IM / Tony Kart) showed well at the recent ROK the RIO, and finished 18th last year at the SuperNats, as did Columbian Luis Umana (AM / Tony Kart), who placed 21st a year ago.

Wild cards to watch include Carson Weinberg (Benik) – the runner-up finisher at the 2019 ROK the RIO – WKA winner Austin Olds (Top Kart), Texan James Moss (IRM / Benik) and Utah’s Alex Mercado (Parolin).

WKA champ Spencer Conrad is one of the five SKUSA Pro Tour winners in the field (Photo: EKN)

By the Numbers:

0 – former winners

3 – number of countries represented by past winners

8 – total number of countries represented in entry list

12 – previous SuperNationals starters

33 – first time SuperNationals racers

Provisional Micro Swift Entry List

No. Driver Team Chassis Hometown Country
89 Truly Adams Troy Adams Coaching Riverside CA US
80 Cypress Andruss Alex Keyes Racing Sebastopol CA US
63 G3 Argyros Speed Factory Nitro Kart Newport Beach CA US
28 Enzo Beltrao Nienkotter CRG Nordam CRG BR
29 Alan Bonilla Orsolon Racing Benik MX
57 Charlie Bradbury Crosslink Competition Exprit Highland Park TX US
14 Sarah Bradley A-Maxx Racing Tony Kart Fishers IN US
66 Brody Budelli Alex Keyes Racing/ Yesnick Racing Fullerton Folsom CA US
23 Jaxson Burns KartSport North America Kart Republic AU
31 Jenson Burns KartSport North America Kart Republic AU
96 William Calleja KartSport North America Kart Republic AU
N2 Logan Chambers PKS Kart Supplies Ricciardo Bakersfield CA US
22 Spencer Conrad Team Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Suffolk VA US
16 Levi Copass CRG Nordam Middletown IN US
41 Heitor Dall' Agnol NF Piquet Sports Tony Kart BR
75 Ryan Giannetta Speed Factory Nitro Kart Redondo Beach CA US
51 Aryton Grim CRP Racing/Nitro Kart Nitro Kart Hilliard OH US
26 Ava Hanssen Franklin Motorsports Merlin Elkhorn WI US
24 Riley Harrison KartSport North America Kart Mini AU
N1 Jack Iliffe Iron Rock Motorsports Tony Kart Austin TX US
88 Roman Kamyab Fusion Motorsport Exprit GB
48 Maxim Kirwan KartSport North America Parolin NZ
99 Jan Philipp Krull GFC GFC DE
95 Bradley Majman KartSport North America Kosmic AU
73 Kobe McInerney Energy North America Energy AU
87 Alex Mercado Parolin Washington UT US
71 Rocky Moran Ryan Perry Motorsport Tony Kart Ladera Ranch CA US
56 James Moss Iron Rock Motorsports Benik Houston TX US
11 Tristan Murphy Formula Works CompKart San Clemente CA US
49 Asher Ochstein Team Benik Benik St. Petersburg FL GB
50 Austin Olds A-Maxx Racing / TopKart USA Top Kart Terre Haute IN US
40 Jase Petty Comet Kart Sales Energy Oakland IL US
17 Indy Ragan Franklin Motorsports Merlin Eagle Lake MN US
21 Gianmatteo Rousseau PSL Karting US
15 Maison Rudman Fusion Motorsport Benik GB
30 Mario Said Team Montoya Tony Kart Culver City CA MX
44 Niklas Schaufler EKS AT
27 Alfie Slater Supertune USA Tony Kart GB
10 Ben Smith Fusion Motorsport Tony Kart GB
55 Caleb Tarter Nitro Kart Winchester IN US
20 Alessandro Truchot AM Racing Team Exprit Miami Beach FL US
77 Luis Umana AM Racing Team Tony Kart CO
97 Enzo Vidmontiene International Motorsport Tony Kart BR
84 Carson Weinberg Benik Carrolton GA US
19 Brayden Zirves Franklin Motorsports Merlin Trevor WI US

EKN Global Members Discussion: