25th Anniversary Merrittville Speedway Kart Season Concludes with Awards Dinner

24 hours before former Kart Racer Mat Williamson was awarded his second career S&W Service Centre 358 Modified Championship, Merrittville Speedway’s 25th Anniversary Kart Racing Season came to a close Friday November 23rd at Port Robinson’s Club Castropgnano.

“Before we established our kart program and since … so many of our Saturday Night racers got their starts in Kart Racing,” said Jim Irvine who was the Thorold track’s General Manager when Tuesday Night racing debuted in 1993 in opening remarks, “to see how our young racers have grown up in the sport is quite incredible.”

One year ago, Nigel Pendykoski of Niagara Falls celebrated his first Junior 1 Title. In 2018 the 12 year old won the Junior 2 Division as a rookie leading to the Crew Chief of the Year Award for his dad Mike.

“This is quite an honour for me,” said Pendykoski after receiving the Crew Chief Award, adding, “but I have to share it with my dad. Anyone who knows me knows I couldn’t have won this award without all the hard work and countless hours he puts in to get Nigel’s kart race ready.“

Successfully defending his Superior PetroFuels Junior Restricted Division Championship of last season was 14 year old Jaedon Lawson of Niagara-on-the-Lake while 8 year old Ben Colavecchia of Welland was honoured as RCM Racing Equipment Junior 1 Division Champion for the first time.

Travis Majuery also of Niagara Falls ended his 15 year Kart Racing Career winning  his third straight Championship in the Southern Ontario Modified Lite Racing Association Senior Animal Division.

Also taking a step back from his karting involvement is former Tuesday Night Racer Chris Watson who was presented the Race Director’s Award from Joey Mastroianni.

Watson, who moved from Karting to Saturday Nights where he still races in the Vansickle Pet Valu & Groomingdale’s Modified Lite Division returned to his racing roots in recent years to serve as an official – the last two seasons as Starter.

Merrittville Speedway’s Kart Club Member Drivers shared in the more than $10,000 in cash point fund and prize awards.

All of Merrittville Speedway’s 2018 Drivers in attendance were eligible to win an Invertor Generator donated by Briggs & Stratton and the winner of the $ 800 prize was Junior 2 racer Madelyn Goulding.

The Member Driver Draws also included prizes from Performance Manufacturing, Slack Karts, and Burris Tire.

Pendykoski, Austin Nigh and Devon Rayment won Kart Bodies.

A number of Specialty Awards were handed out and the winners are listed as follows.

Rookies of the Year:   Nigel Pendykoski (RCM Racing Equipment Performance Manufacturing Junior 2), and Austin Nigh (Superior PetroFuels Performance Manufacturing Junior Restricted) and Devon Rayment (Sourthern Ontario Modified Lite Racing Association Senior Animal).

Most Improved Driver Award: Ben Colavecchia

RCM Racing Equipment Sportsmanship Awards: Cohen Corbett (RCM Racing Equipment Performance Manufacturing Junior 2), Logan Iliffe (Superior PetroFuels Performance Manufacturing Junior Restricted Flat Head) and Dylan Culp (Southern Ontario Modified Lite Racing Association Performance Manufacturing Senior Animal).

Father and son – Dave and Noah Mamo were presented Dedication to Racing Awards for all their efforts in both Tuesday and Saturday Night Racing..

For further information on Merrittville Speedway’s 2019 Kart Racing Season contact the Speedway Office at 905-892-8266 or visit www.merrittvillespeedway.com or via e mail at donspiece.merrittvillespeedway@gmail.com.  Race fans and Race teams alike can follow Merrittville on Face Book (Facebook.com/Merrittville Speedway) and Twitter (Twitter.com/Merrittville

2018 Merrittville Speedway Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Karting Series Final Points

RCM Racing Equipment Performance Manufacturing Junior 1 Division (
9 Events) Ben Colavecchia, Wayne Swinson, Aiden Lavallee, Gavin Lavallee.

RCM Racing Equipment Performance Manufacturing Junior 2 Division – Nigel Pendykoski, Chris Crowe, Cohen Corbett, Hana Rothwell, Owen Kaiser, Trevor Evans, Madelyn Goulding, Benjamin Colavecchia, Lexi Healy.

Superior PetroFuels Performance Manufacturing Junior Restricted Division – Jaedon Lawson, Austin Nigh, Davis Grocott, Colton Lane, Logan Iliffe, Jacob Mamo, Amber White, Zach Trotter, Joey Priestley, Brennon Wallace, Cameron Lane, Kyle Miller, Jordan Ramsbottom, Lukas Moote..

Wilder Racing Engines Performance Manufacturing Senior Animal Division – Travis Majuery, Devon Rayment, Dylan Culp.

MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS The 2018 Bobcat of Hamilton Weekly Karting Series for Merrittville Speedway’s Divisions was brought to racers by partners including Performance Manufacturing, the Southern Ontario Modified Lite Racing Association, RCM Racing Equipment, Superior PetroFuels, Briggs & Stratton, St. Catharines Discount Auto Parts, Wilder Racing Engines and Burris Tire.

EKN Global Members Discussion: