Race Recap: GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge – Round 3

Another strong entry count of 141 competitors highlighted Round 3 of the 12-Round GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge club series in Mooresville, NC. Competitors were treated to perfect race day weather of 80 degrees and sunshine after a cold and rainy opening two rounds.

Congrats to all Round 3 winners: Danny Dyszelski (Briggs LO206 Cadet), Connor Yonchuk (Briggs LO206 Junior), Dan Koehler (Briggs LO206 Senior), Tyler Wettengel (IAME KA100 Junior), Alex Keadle (IAME KA100 Senior), Gavin Boschele (IAME Mini Swift), Sam Corry (IAME Swift), Caleb Bacon (IAME Junior), Dalton Dow (IAME Senior), Logan Cozzie (IAME Heavy), David Newell (Kid Kart).

IAME Mini Swift Division Sponsored by K&N:

In the IAME Mini Swift final, Gavan Boschele and Spencer Conrad swapped for the lead lap after lap, but it was always Boschele who controlled the lead at the line each lap. As the white flap was shown, the wick was turned up as the frontrunners went three-wide into Turn Four. This moved Ayden Patty from third to first in a single corner. However, Boschele charged back to score the win. Patty held on to earn second, followed by Conrad in third.

IAME Swift Division Sponsored by IAME USA East:

In the IAME Swift Division, Raiden Nicol led briefly before Brent Crews overtook Nicol in Turn Four. Crews continued to lead, but was under heavy pressure from Nicol. By halfway, Nicol had regained the lead briefly, but quickly fell behind Crews the very next lap and even dropped to third as Sam Corry joined the charge. Crews, Corry and Nicol broke away from the field, creating what would come down to a three-kart battle for the win. On the final lap, Crews pulled a slight block on Corry in Turn Eight and Corry fired back with a near-perfect execution of a crossover move to overtake Crews. Corry’s impressive last-lap pass earned him the win, followed by Crews in second and Nicol in third.

IAME Junior Division Sponsored by Max Papis Inc.:

In the IAME Junior Division final, Caleb Bacon, Gray Leadbetter and Hayden Jones took the green and immediately began battling for the lead. Bacon settled into the lead as halfway was shown, but Leadbetter trailed within striking distance in second place. On the final lap, Leadbetter got a strong run exiting Turn 11, creating a drag race to the line. Bacon was able to edge out Leadbetter by 0.045 seconds to score the win. Leadbetter settled for second and Jones rounded out the podium.

IAME Senior Division Sponsored by CNC Performance Engineering:

In the IAME Senior final, Brandon Jarsocrak paced the field of 19 drivers from the top spot. However, behind him in second, Dalton Dow was clocking the fastest laps of the race and would certainly prove to be a contender for the lead in just a few short laps. With four laps to go, Dow made his move on Jarsocrak for the lead entering Turn One. Dow went on to score the win, followed by Jarsocrak in second and Ashley Rogero in third.

IAME Heavy Division Sponsored by Stitch 98:

In the IAME Heavy Division final, Logan Cozzie put on a clinic, pacing the field by over 11 seconds to score the win. Shannon Lee and Lance Witt finished in second and third, respectively.

Briggs LO206 Cadet Division Sponsored by Kart Carolina:

In the Briggs LO206 Cadet Division final, 14 young drivers took the green with Adam Brickley on the point. Just before halfway, Hunter Yeany stormed to the lead with a pass on Brickley entering Turn One. As halfway was shown to drivers, the frontrunners began battling like it was the final lap. Sam Corry and Danny Dyszelski passed Brickley who had briefly regained the lead with Brickley falling to third. The three drivers broke away, creating a nose-to-tail train for the final laps. As the drivers crossed the line for the white-flag lap, Corry made his move around Dyszelski for the lead, but Dyszelski returned the favor in Turn Four. Dyszelski held on to score the win, followed by Corry in second and Brickley in third.

Briggs LO206 Junior Division Sponsored by MG Tires:

In the Briggs LO206 Junior division, Connor Yonchuk and Ian Habiuk took just a lap to break away from the field to create a two-kart battle for the win. By halfway, Habiuk was keeping Yonchuk in his sights, but not locked onto his bumper completely. As laps wound down, Yonchuck was able to improve his lead to over 1.5 seconds to score the win over Habiuk. Cam Burris finished in third.

Briggs LO206 Senior Division Sponsored by Franklin Signs & Graphics:

In the Briggs LO206 Senior division, 34 drivers took the green flag for the final event. There was a six-kart train battling for the top spot led by Zachary Linsell. At halfway, Linsell and Dan Koehler had broken away from the rest of the field, forced to now settle the battle amongst themselves. Linsell appeared to have the win wrapped up, but Koehler executed a last-corner, last-lap pass perfectly to create a drag race to the line. Koehler carried his momentum to edge out Linsell for the win by just 0.040 seconds. Koehler earned the win, followed by Linsell in second and Tyler Sandmeyer in third.

IAME KA100 Junior Division Sponsored by KartSport North America:

In the KA100 Junior Division final, it took Tyler Wettengel just one short lap to secure the lead from Jacob Graham. For the time being, Graham locked onto Wettengel’s bumper. However, just a few laps later, Graham overtook Wettengel in Turn Four to retake the lead. Wettengel didn’t miss a beat, sliding seamlessly behind Graham and locking to his bumper. Wettengel waited patiently to make his move on the final lap with a pass in Turn Four to take the lead. Wettengel went unchallenged through the final turns to score the win. Graham finished in second and Donald Whorton II rounded out the top-three.

IAME KA100 Senior Division Sponsored by Sunoco Race Fuels:
In the KA100 Senior Division, Daniel Tate controlled the lead for the opening laps before getting shuffled back as Alex Keadle and Emory Lyda overtook the top-two positions. By halfway, Keadle and Lyda were bumper-to-bumper and had broke away from the field. Keadle scored the win, followed by Lyda in second and Tate in third.

Kid Kart Division:

In the Kid Kart Division final, David Newell scored the coveted win, followed by Bradi Beegle and Christian Reiter.

Round 3 Results & Photos:
Round 3 Results, Standings>> (http://www.gopromotorplex.com/race-events/past-race-results/2018-karting-challenge-results/)

GoPro Photo Gallery>> (http://www.gopromotorplex.com/gallery/2018-karting-challenge/)

Race Coverage: To watch the recording of today’s Karting Challenge Round 3 YouTube Live Stream, (https://youtu.be/bp0TfSiFEhs)

Up next is a doubleheader weekend for Rounds 4 and 5 of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge on May 25-26. For more information on the Karting Challenge club series, CLICK HERE>> (http://www.gopromotorplex.com/race-events/kart-owner-events/gopro-motorplex-karting-challenge)

EKN Global Members Discussion: