So Cal Oval Karters Wheel2Wheel Raceway Results

The So Cal Oval Karters club made its first trip to the High Desert in over 2 ½ months to compete at the annual “Flyin’ Hawaiian Race” at John Aden’s Wheel2Wheel Raceway last Saturday night.  The familiar names of Southern, Juillerat, Benton and Head dominated the action and took home the winner’s trophies in their respective classes.

In the KT100’s, Hesperia’s Thomas Southern made it four wins in his last five starts when he outdistanced the field from the outside of the front row on his home track.  Not only did Southern win the main event, but he also swept the show winning the two KT100 heat races earlier in the program.  Chasing the local karter across the line on the hot desert night was Santa Barbara’s Donnie Crawford, Ted Marshall, Cathedral City racer Dillon Hoffman and Chico’s Marc Jordan.  Crawford, who came from fifth to second, was the “Hard Charger.”

Keeping it in the family, Southern’s father Chris took one of the heats and then the Open Class main event from the pole.   Giving himself an early anniversary present, the victory was his third of the campaign the Open Class (he also has a win in the KT100’s).  Brad Berg, the always fast Joe Gibb of Lakewood, Hoffman and Fountain Valley’s Scott Bohle rounded out the top five.  Berg was the “Hard Charger.”  Hoffman won the other Open Class heat.

Defending class champ Steve Juillerat of Whittier won his third F200 main event in five starts on Saturday.  Like Thomas Southern in the KT100’s, Juillerat swept the class winning both heats and the main.  Norm Reynolds of San Marcos, who had won two F200 mains in a row heading into Saturday, placed second with the Banning father and daughter combo of Scott and Desiree Gaynor finishing third and fourth.

Ronnie Benton continued to make mincemeat out of the Senior 4 Cycles when he swept the show once again.  The victory gave the San Diego based karter five wins in five starts in 2017.  Chino Hill’s resident Tony de’ Almeida and debuting rookie Emma Herzog of Anaheim finished second and third.

Brandon Head made it two wins in a row with the SCOK when he outdistanced the competition in the Junior Class.  Shane Holt II, in only his second, race was runnerup with Zate Legend third.

Next up for the So Cal Oval Karters will be one of the most popular races of the year at the beautiful Grand Arena in the City of Industry on August 5th.  Joining the SCOK at the annual race will be the Speedway Sprints and Dirt Karts from Wheel2Wheel Raceway along with the Norco Mowers.  The pit gate will open at 11:00 am.   Spectator admission is only $5.00 and the spectator gate will open at 2:30.  The first race will be at 3:00.  The concession stands at The Grand, known far and wide for great food, will be open for this event.

The race slated for Perris Auto Speedway on August 12th has been canceled.

To keep up with the So Cal Oval Karters on Facebook, please use the following link:

The So Cal Oval Karters website is available at:

The So Cal Oval Karters would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the championship series possible.  Burris Racing, Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School,, Perris Auto Speedway, R&J Motorsports, THC Home Medical Services, T-MAC Racing and Yamaha of America Racing Engines.  If you or your business would like to become a partner of the So Cal Oval Karters, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

July 15 Wheel2Wheel Main Event Results (with starting positions)


  1. Thomas Southern – Hesperia – 2nd
    2. Donnie Crawford – Santa Barbara – 5th
    3.Ted Marshall – 3rd
    4. Dillon Hoffman – Cathedral City – 4th
    5. Marc Jordan – Chico – 7th
    6. Art Klein – Las Vegas – 6th
    7. Chris Southern – Hesperia – 1st
    DNS Rick Beeson

Open Class

  1. Chris Southern – Hesperia – 1st
    2. Brad Berg – 3rd
    3. Joe Gibb – Lakewood – 4th
    4. Dillon Hoffman – Cathedral City – 2
    5. Scott Bohle – Fountain Valley – 6
    6. Trevor McAlister – Yucca Valley – 5th


  1. Steve Juillerat – Whittier – 1st
    2. Norm Reynolds – San Marcos – 2nd
    3. Scott Gaynor – Banning – 3rd
    4. Desiree Gaynor – Banning – 4th

Senior 4 Cycle

  1. Ronnie Benton – San Diego – 1st
    2. Tony de Almeida – Chino Hills – 2nd
    3. Emma Herzog – Anaheim – 3rd


  1. Brandon Head – 1st
    2. Shane Holt II – 2nd
    3. Zate Legend – 3rd

2017 So Cal Oval Karters Winners


March 18 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Chris Southern
April 15 – Perris Auto Speedway – Thomas Southern
May 6 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Thomas Southern
June 10 – Perris Auto Speedway (road race) – Chris Gibb
July 15 – Wheel2Whell – Thomas Southern


March 18 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Chris Southern
April 15 – Perris Auto Speedway – Dillon Hoffman
May 6 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Chris Southern
June 10 – Perris Auto Speedway (road race) – Michael Korody
July 15 – Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern

Senior 4 Cycle

March 18 – Wheel2Wheel – Ronnie Benton
April 15 – Perris Auto Speedway – Ronnie Benton
May 6 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Ronnie Benton
June 10 – Perris Auto Speedway (road race) – Jeffrey Butler
July 15 – Wheel2Wheel – Ronnie Benton


March 18 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Steve Juillerat
April 15 – Perris Auto Speedway – Steve Juillerat
May 6 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Norm Reynolds
June 10 – Perris Auto Speedway (road race) – Norm Reynolds
July 15 – Wheel2Wheell – Steve Juillerat

Junior 1

April 15 – Perris Auto Speedway – Drake Cardey
June 10 – Perris Auto Speedway (road race) – Brandon Head
July 15 – Wheel2Wheel – Brandon Head


March 18 – Wheel2Wheel Raceway – Kailana Franklin

2017 So Cal Oval Karters 2017 Schedule

August 5 – The Grand Arena at Industry Hills
September 9 – Wheel2Wheel
October 14 – Wheel2Wheel
November 4 – Perris Auto Speedway

EKN Global Members Discussion: