WKA Salutes 2016 Road Race National Champions

The battle for supremacy in the Dunlop/Xeramic National Road Race Series concluded for the 2016 recently at the Atlanta Motorsports Park in Dawsonville, Georgia. And while the rain shortened event provided a perfect summation to the season, that didn’t sway the positive spirit, nor high intensity for all competitors on and off the track.

Leading the way in the title category was Matt Michel. After suffering through a horrific crash in December at Daytona, Michel roared back to life with a vengeance, taking the CKI sponsored Yamaha Sportsman Medium class by 148 tallies over David Lee, who in turn edged Amanda Holewski by just 2 points for the runner-up spot. Michel also conquered the Yamaha Sportsman Heavy class, again edging Lee, with Bill Holder rounding out the top 3.

Michel wasn’t the only double titlist, as Stephen Wheatley, Louie Magiera, and Cole Peschang checked in for a pair of 2016 titles as well.

Wheatley’s double dip came in the Hoosier Racing Tire Animal Lite class, where he bested Rob Hindery by 55 points, with Blake Beattie, Ben Thomason, and David Clevenger rounding out the top 5. Wheatley also laid claim to the Animal Medium class, topping Quentin Hill, Robert Wimmer, Rob Garland Jr, and Zach Linsell.

For long time veteran Louie Magiera, the titles came for the New Englander in the Yamaha Sprint and WKA Sprint categories, while up and comer Cole Peschang from the Midwest took down the Junior Animal Lite and Heavy top honors.

Steve Gore came away with the top honors this season in the Kion/Linde Forklifts Yamaha Heavy class, besting David McCauley and Ryan Hatcher, while Lamar Hilliard claimed a title this season in the Foster 4J Ranch Yamaha Medium category, topping McCauley and Hatcher as well.

In The Agile Group Unlimited class, Jeff Standridge took the top honors for the year over Ron Miller and Darrin Cuthbertson, while Emmit Rodriguez was the champion in the West Texas Outlaws TaG Heavy division.

The WT Racing Leopard Sprint class again saw good competition this year with Robert Wimmer edging Jeff Troup, Donald Nelson, Quincy Smith, and Jesse Holt for the top honors.

Stephen Flatt joined the list of drivers celebrating a title this year, taking the Fisher Racing Engines Stock Honda class, besting Steven Rougeou, Chris Hines, Aamir Hyder, and Keith Buffo.

In the KALL Racing/Millers Dynotime Racing Formula 100 class, Travis Miller won the battle over Lance Yunck, with Michael Tracy, Scott Campbell, and Rick Fulks completing the top 5.

And Bill Morsberger laid claim to the Matthai Material Handling 100cc Piston Port Class for the season, taking the title over John Brown.

Here’s a look at the remaining 2016 National Champions:

B Stock: Duane Eberhart
Yamaha Sportsman Sprint: Dawn Magiera
125 Sprint Shifter: Thomas Dupont
Clone LO206 Lite: Rob Hindery
Clone LO206 Heavy: Robert Garland Sr
Animal Heavy: Steve Johnson

On behalf of the World Karting Association, our sincerest congratulations to all the national champions, as well as all participants in the 2016 season.

Special thanks to Jim Russell Jr of Russell Karting Specialites, the entire list of sponsors for the year, as well as the Southern Kart Club, Woodbridge Kart Club, and the many officials who take time away from their personal lives to help make the Road Race program truly one of the best places to be on a weekend.

While the season will kick off, as always at Daytona for KartWeek, the annual awards presentation will be announced shortly.

Entry information for Daytona KartWeek will be out shortly.

EKN Global Members Discussion: