So Cal Oval Karters in the Grand Arena at Industry Hills Expo Center This Saturday

The So Cal Oval Karters are primed and ready for what has annually become their most popular race of the season this Saturday, August 6th, in the beautiful Grand Arena at the Industry Hills Expo Center.  Joining the SCOK at the event will be the Speedway Sprints from Wheel2Wheel Raceway and the Norco Mower Racers.  Spectator gates will open at 2:30 PM with racing at 3:00.

“Everybody eagerly awaits this race every year,” SCOK’s Mike Nigh said with a smile.  “It is just such a wonderful, modern venue.  Freeway close, covered from the sun, great food and a racing surface that is second to none.  Just everything about the place is great.  It is our Daytona 500.”

Established in 1981, the Industry Hills Expo Center is a world class facility located within the borders of the City of Industry.  The $10,000,000.00 Grand Arena has become well known for racing as it has been home to Wednesday night Speedway Motorcycle racing for the past 13-years.  Once each year the SCOK gets it shot in the arena that features a 45,000 square foot floor and a 10,000 watt fully equipped JBL/QSC sound system.

Heading into Saturday’s affair, the toughest points battle in the SCOK is in the KT100 class where Hesperia’s Chris Southern leads arch rival Joe Gibb of Lakewood by a mere 20-points in the championship standings.  Southern won the first four main events of the year.  Gibb has won the last two and chopped dramatically into Southern’s point lead.  Fireworks could prevail any time they are on the track together.

While he is second in the KT100’s, Gibb has dominated the Open Class winning five of the first six races.  The only driver to beat him thus far in the Opens in 2016 is, you guessed it, Chris Southern.

Arch rivals Chris Southern of Hesperia and Joe Gibb of Lakewood will be battling this Saturday in the

Grand Arena at the Industry Hills Expo Center.  Please give photo credit to Schnarzy.

Steve Juillerat, who will be making the short drive from Whittier to the Grand Arena, heads the F200’s in wins and championship points.  He has won four of the first six races of the year and is 50-points up on Banning’s Scott Gaynor.

In the Senior 4 Cycle Class, Menifee’s Don Holdsworth is bringing a five race winning streak to Saturday’s event.  He leads Desiree Gaynor of Banning by 84-points, which is the biggest lead for any driver thus far in the SCOK in 2016.

In addition to the adults members of the SCOK, the Junior/Junior class for the kids learning to race will also be in action on Saturday.

Cash only admission is just $10.00 for adults, $5.00 for seniors, active military members and kids 13-17.  Children 12 and under are free.  There is a $5.00 fee for parking.  The Industry Hills Expo Center is located at 16200 Temple Avenue in the City of Industry.

After Saturday’s race at the Grand Arena, the So Cal Oval Karters will head up the hill to Wheel2Wheel Raceway on the San Bernardino County Fairgrounds in Victorville on August 20.

The So Cal Oval Karters would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 championship series possible.  Burris Racing, Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School,, Perris Auto Speedway, R&J Motorsports, THC Home Medical Services, T-MAC Racing and Yamaha of America Racing Engines.  If you or your business would like to become a partner of the So Cal Oval Karters 2016 season, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

Point Standings

1. Chris Southern – Hesperia – 880
2. Joe Gibb – Long Beach – 860
3. Rob Marion – Oxnard – 815
4. Thomas Southern – Hesperia – 794 *
5. Ted Marshall –  757

Open Class
1. Joe Gibb – Long Beach – 900
2. Scott Bohle – Fountain Valley – 830
3. Dillon Hoffman – Cathedral City – 815
4. Norm Reynolds – San Marcos – 790
5. Chris Southern – Hesperia – 675

Senior 4 Cycles
1. Don Holdsworth – Menifee – 900
2. Desiree Gaynor – Banning – 816
3. John Leonhart – Norwalk – 782
4. Tony de Almeida – Chino Hills – 651
5. Ryan Sherman – Lake Elsinore –  500*

1. Steve Juillerat – Whittier – 880
2. Scott Gaynor – Banning – 830
3. Justin Garcia – Riverside – 655
4. Troy McIntosh – Lake Elsinore – 350
5. Jason Voss – Lake Elsinore – 320

KT100 Main Event Winners
3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
6-4   Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
6-18 Perris Auto Speedway – Joe Gibb
7-23 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb

F200 Main Event Winners
3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Jason Morheiser
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Steve Juillerat
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Troy McIntosh
6-4   Wheel2Wheel – Steve Juillerat
6-18 Perris Auto Speedway – Steve Juillerat
7-23 Wheel2Wheel – Steve Juillerat

SR 4 Cycle Main Event Winners
3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Jason Morheiser
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Don Holdsworth
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Don Holdsworth
6-4   Wheel2Wheel –  Don Holdsworth
6-18 Perris Auto Speedway – Don Holdsworth
7-23 Wheel2Wheel – Don Holdsworth

Open Class Main Event Winners
3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb
6-4   Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
6-25 Perris Auto Speedway – Joe Gibb
7-23 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb

Please follow and like us:

EKN Global Members Discussion: