Joe Gibb Wins Two So Cal Oval Karter Main Events at Perris Auto Speedway

The only thing hotter than the temperature at Perris Auto Speedway last Saturday was young Long Beach racer Joe Gibb who won the KT100 and Open Class main events when the So Cal Oval Karters visited the Riverside County race plant for the first time in 2016.  His win in the KT100’s put a stop to the four race win streak of Chris Southern.  His win in the Opens was his fourth in the first five races of the year.

Racing on a track cut into what is normally the pits of the famous half-mile clay oval, competitors were greeted by sizzling temperatures that nearly touched 100-degrees during the competitive show.  However, a light breeze made the conditions a little more tolerable for all of the drivers and everyone in the pit area.

Gibb’s win in the KT100’s was perhaps the most exciting race of the day.  After winning both of his heat races, brake problems forced him to jump into the Matt Jones owned #91 kart that was driven by Ronnie Spinak in the heats.  The switch also meant that he had to start last in the main event.  That however proved no problem for Gibb as he sliced, diced and when needed pushed his way to the front to score his initial KT100 win of the year.  Oxnard’s Rob Marion, who won three of the four SCOK KT100 mains at The PAS in 2015, took second.  Thomas Southern placed third spot followed by his father Chris and San Diego’s Randy Truax.

His last to first run made Gibb the “Hard Charger” of the KT100’s.

Things were much easier for Gibb in the Open Class.  He started on the pole alongside Hemet resident Chris Southern.  Gibb had won the first three Open mains of the year before Southern stopped his streak two weeks ago at Wheel2Wheel Raceway in Victorville.  From the time starter Chris Fulton waved the green flag over the field, it was obvious that Gibb was out to start a new streak.  He jumped into the lead at the start and never looked back.  He led every inch of the way for his fourth win in five races in 2016.  Southern finished second in the race where passing was as rare as a Formula 1 race at Indy.  Cathedral City racer Dillon Hoffman, who did not finish either of the heat races, finished third.  Norm Reynolds of San Marcos was fourth.  Marine Corp recruiter Scott Bohle of Fountain Valley, who suffered a sprained hand and shoulder in the first heat race, had carb problems in the main and was fifth.

Gibb and Southern split the Open heats.  The heat race that Southern won was the only loss for Gibb in six starts on the day.  Reynolds was the Open main event “Hard Charger.”

With Southern’s KT100 win streak stopped at four, the current longest winning streak now belongs to Don Holdsworth who won his fourth straight main in the Senior 4 Cycles.  Racing against the largest main event field of the day, the Menifee resident led green to checkers under the hot afternoon sun.  The only main event blemish on Holdsworth’s record in 2016 came when Jason Morheiser won the season opener at Wheel2Wheel in March.

Banning’s Desiree Gaynor was the Senior 4 Cycle “Hard Charger” finishing second after starting fifth.  Lake Elsinore’s Ryan Sherman was third.  Scotty Bassett of Van Nuys and Camarillo’s Carly Nigh, who won the first heat race, rounded out the top five.  Holdsworth won the other heat race.

In the F200, the story was the same for what it has been for most of the year.  Steve Juillerat won the main event for the third time in five races. The Whittier karter, swept the show after winning both of the heat races as well.  In the main, he went the distance from the pole to win over Banning’s Scott Gaynor and Justin Garcia of Riverside.  Jason Voss of Lake Elsinore broke in the heat race and was done for the day.  Gaynor was the main event “Hard Charger.”

As well as the adults, the Junior/Juniors were on hand.  Kailana Franklin, sisters Illiana & Izzie Bezio and Tristan Juillerat all got in valuable laps throughout the day.

The SCOK has five weeks off before returning to Wheel2Wheel Raceway in Victorville on July 23rd.  The club will then head to the Grand Arena at Industry Hills for its only 2016 appearance on August 6th.

The So Cal Oval Karters would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 championship series possible.  Burris Racing, Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School,, Perris Auto Speedway, R&J Motorsports, THC Home Medical Services, T-MAC Racing and Yamaha of America Racing Engines.  If you or your business would like to become a partner of the So Cal Oval Karters 2016 season, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

Perris Main Events (with starting positions)


  1. Joe Gibb – Long Beach
    2. Rob Marion – Oxnard
    3. Thomas Southern – Hesperia
    4. Chris Southern – Hesperia
    5. Randy Truax – San Diego
    6. Ted Marshall
    7. Bill Didion – Manteca Junction
    DNS Ronnie Spinak

Open Class

  1. Joe Gibb – Long Beach
    2. Chris Southern – Hemet
    3. Dillon Hoffman – Cathedral City
    4. Norman Reynolds – San Marcos
    5. Scott Bohle – Fountain Valley

Senior 4 Cycle

  1. Don Holdsworth – Menifee
    2. Desiree Gaynor – Banning
    3. Ryan Sherman – Lake Elsinore
    4. Scotty Bassett – Van Nuys
    5. Carly Night – Camarillo
    6. Garrett Schill – Riverside
    7. Tony de Almeida – Chino Hills
    8. John Leonhart – Norwalk


  1. Steve Juillerat – Whittier
    2. Scott Gaynor – Banning
    3. Justin Garcia – Riverside
    Jason Voss – Lake Elsinore DNS

Point Standings


  1. Chris Southern – Hesperia – 720
    2. Joe Gibb – Long Beach -680
    3. Rob Marion – Oxnard – 655
    4. Thomas Southern – Hesperia – 624 *
    5. Matt Drotz – Long Beach – 495 *
    * Non Member

Open Class

  1. Joe Gibb – Long Beach – 720
    2. Scott Bohle – Fountain Valley – 660
    3. Dillon Hoffman – Cathedral City – 655
    4. Norm Reynolds – San Marcos – 635
    5. Chris Southern – Hesperia – 510

Senior 4 Cycles

  1. Don Holdsworth – Menifee – 720
    2. Desiree Gaynor – Banning – 646
    3. John Leonhart – Norwalk – 640
    4. Ryan Sherman – Lake Elsinore – 500 *
    5. Tony de Almeida – Chino Hills – 486

*Non Member


  1. Steve Juillerat – Whittier – 710
    2. Scott Gaynor – Banning – 670
    3. Justin Garcia – Riverside – 655
    4. Troy McIntosh – Lake Elsinore – 350
    5. Jason Voss – Lake Elsinore – 320

KT100 Main Event Winners

3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
6-4   Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
6-18 Perris Auto Speedway – Joe Gibb

F200 Main Event Winners

3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Jason Morheiser
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Steve Juillerat
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Troy McIntosh
6-4   Wheel2Wheel – Steve Juillerat
6-18 Perris Auto Speedway – Steve Juillerat

SR 4 Cycle Main Event Winners

3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Jason Morheiser
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Don Holdsworth
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Don Holdsworth
6-4   Wheel2Wheel –  Don Holdsworth
6-18 Perris Auto Speedway – Don Holdsworth

Open Class Main Event Winners

3-12 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb
4-23 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb
5-14 Wheel2Wheel – Joe Gibb
6-4   Wheel2Wheel – Chris Southern
6-25 Perris Auto Speedway – Joe Gibb

EKN Global Members Discussion: