So Cal Oval Karters Head to Victoville This Saturday

Tight action in the So Cal Oval Karter’s Open Class earlier this year at Wheel2Wheel Raceway (Photo: Schnarzy)

The So Cal Oval Karters season will hit the top of the homestretch this Saturday when it journey’s to John Aden’s Wheel2Wheel Raceway located on the San Bernardino County Fairgrounds in Victorville.  In addition to the five SCOK classes, the resident Speedway Sprints and Dirt Karts will also be on the card that will be comprised of more than 30-races.  The pit gate will open at 3:00 PM, spectator gates at 5:00 and racing will get the green flag at 6:00.

Saturday’s race will be the fourth of five on the High Desert 1/8 of a mile banked oval in 2015.  Only Bonita’s Matt Martis, in the SR 4 Cycle Class, is undefeated at Victorville this year.  La Verne’s Jason Morheiser is the only other driver to be a repeat winner at W2W this year bagging two wins in the F200’s.  Troy McIntosh, the current point leader in the F200’s, won the other main event in the class.

Both the KT100’s and the Open Class have produced three different winners at W2W in 2015.  Troy Patton of Cherry Valley, Garden Grove’s Brody Roa and point leader Rob Marion of Oxnard have taken victory laps in the KT100’s.  In the Open Class, Long Beach racer Chris Gibb, Steve Patton of Cherry Valley and San Diego State college student Cody Nigh of Camarillo, who leads the championship standings, have all posted wins.  All, with the exception of Roa who has a USAC/CRA Sprint Car race in Santa Maria, are expected to be on hand on Saturday.

In addition to the four adult classes, the JrJr Class for kids, will also take to the track on Saturday.

The SCOK will make their final appearance of the season at Wheel2Wheel on October 10.

Heading into Saturday’s race, Rob Marion holds a 103-point advantage over San Diego’s Randy Truax in the season long KT100 standings.  Troy Patton is 127-points behind Marion.  It is a little tighter in the F200’s where Troy McIntosh leads Scott Gaynor by 100-points.  Steve Juillerat is third, but is 430-off the top spot.  Matt Martis leads Jason Voss by 170-points in the SR 4 Cycles.  Garrett Schill is third and trails Martis by 245-points.  The best battle for the title is in the Open Class where Cody Nigh has a narrow 40-point lead over Steve Patton.  Chad Griggs of Lakeside is third in the Opens, but is 545-markers behind the leader.

The So Cal Oval Karters would like to thank the following sponsors who help make the series possible.  Burris Racing, Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School,, Perris Auto Speedway, Professional Announcer Chappy, R&J Motorsports, THC Home Medical Services, T-MAC Racing and Yoa Racing Engines.  If you would like to become a part of the So Cal Oval Karters 2015 season, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

So Cal Oval Karters Point Standings

1. Rob Marion – Oxnard – 1113
2. Randy Truax – San Diego – 1175
3. Troy Patton – Cherry Valley – 1151
4. Rev Parker – San Pedro – 1108
5. Tyler Wilson – Long Beach – 1099

1. Troy McIntosh – Lake Elsinore – 1390
2. Scott Gaynor – Banning – 1290
3. Steve Juillerat – Whittier – 960
4. Justin Garcia – Riverside – 945
5. Matt Drottz – Long Beach – 835

SR 4 Cycle
1. Matt Martis – Bonita – 1375
2. Jason Voss – Lake Elsinore – 1205
3. Garret Schill – Riverside – 1130
4. Aubrey Oppelt – Lake Elsinore – 1081
5. Desiree Gaynor – Banning – 1081

1. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1375
2. Steve Patton – Cherry Valley – 1335
3. Chad Griggs – Lakeside – 830
4. Norm Reynolds – San Marcos – 625
5. Chris Gibb – Long Beach – 520 *

* = Non Member

2015 So Cal Oval Karters Winners

KT100: 3/21 Perris Raceway Rev Parker, 4/11 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Troy Patton, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Brody Roa, 5-30 Perris Auto Speedway Road Course Rob Marion, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Rob Marion, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Rob Marion, 7-25 Industry Chris Gibb, 8-8 Perris Raceway Troy Patton, 8-22 Perris Auto Speedway Brody Roa

F200: 3/21 Perris Raceway Matt Drottz, 4/11 Wheel2WheelRaceway Jason Morheiser, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Troy McIntosh, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Troy McIntosh, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Jason Morheiser, 7-25 Industry Troy McIntosh, 8-8 Perris Raceway Troy McIntosh, 8-22 Don Amigliore

SR 4 Cycle: 3/21 Perris Raceway Matt Martis, 4/11 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Matt Martis, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Jason Voss, 5/30 Perris Auto Speedway (road course) Matt Martis, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Jason Voss, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Matt Martis, 7-25 Industry Matt Martis, 8-8 Perris Raceway Danny Morheiser, 8-22 Perris Auto Speedway Jason Voss

Open: 3/21 Perris Raceway Darren Elliott, 4/11 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Chris Gibb, 5/16 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Cody Nigh, 5-30 Perris Auto Speedway (road course) Mike Collins, 6-20 Perris Auto Speedway Cody Nigh, 7/4 Wheel2Wheel Raceway Steve Patton, 7-25 Industry Steve Patton, 8-8 Perris Raceway Cody Nigh, 8-22 Perris Auto Speedway Chris Gibb

EKN Global Members Discussion: