Roa, Nigh, Voss, and McCintosh Win So Cal Oval Karters Mains at Wheel2Wheel

The regulars in the So Cal Oval Karters are glad that Brody Roa has a full-time ride in the USAC/CRA Series and cannot make all of the races as last Saturday, the Garden Grove, California resident used a week off his busy sprint car schedule to win the 20-lap KT100 main event at John Aden’s Wheel2Wheel Raceway in Victorville.

Roa, a multi-time karting champ, won the second of three heats in the KT100’s before starting on the pole and beating the rest of the competition for the win On the High Desert.  Menifee’s Dom Amigliore followed the racing veteran to the checkered flag with Troy Patton of Cherry Valley, who won the last race at Wheel2Wheel, third.  San Diego’s Randy Truax and Tyler Wilson of Long Beach rounded out the top five.  Patton and Truax won the other two heats.

In the Open class, Camarillo’s Cody Nigh, who will be headed to San Diego State University in August to continue his finance studies, bagged his first win of the 2015 campaign.  Nigh placed second in the first two races of the season and came from second to win on Saturday at Wheel2Wheel.  Chad Griggs of Lakeside took second with shifterkart star Darren Elliott of Santa Monica, who won the season opener at the Perris Raceway, third.  Steve Patton of Cherry Valley and Todd Cunningham of Corona placed fourth and fifth.  The heats in the Open class went to Elliott and Kellee Griggs of Lakeside.

After two second place finishes, San Diego State University student Cody Nigh won the main event in the Open Class at Wheel2Wheel Raceway.  Photo by Schnarzy.

Jason Voss notched his first win in the SR 4 Cycle class on Saturday.  Bonita’s Matt Martis, who earlier in the night swept the heats in the class, was second with Garrett Schill of Riverside taking third.  Banning’s Desiree Gaynor and Aubrey Oppelt of Lake Elsinore finished fourth and fifth in the main event.

Action from the SR 4 Cycle Class at Wheel2Wheel Raceway.  Please give photo credit to Schnarzy.

Lake Elsinore’s Troy McCintosh swept the show in the F200’s winning both heats and the main event.  Matt Drottz of Long Beach, who came into the night with a win and a second place finish in the first two races of the year, took the runner-up spot in the main.  Banning’s Scott Gaynor, Steve Juillerat of Whittier and Riverside’s Justin Garcia placed third through fifth respectively.

A fine field of 34 karts signed in to race on the track located on the San Bernardino County Fairgrounds and the “Hard Charger” for the night was Drottz who moved from his 14th starting spot in the KT100’s to finish seventh.

The So Cal Oval Karters have this week off, but they will be busy preparing for the highly anticipated road race at Perris Auto Speedway on May 30th.  That daytime race will also be the debut of the series “Arrive and Drive” program.  Potential new drivers can jump in a kart built by the So Cal Oval Karters and cut some laps.  The cost is $25.00 for 10 laps (there is also a $10.00 admission fee to the facility).  The “Arrive and Drive” program is designed for kids age 8 and up and for adults as well.  Drivers have to wear tennis shoes, a long sleeve jacket and jeans.  If they have a helmet, it is recommended they bring that as well, but for those who do not have one, some helmets will be available.  Gloves and racing collars will be supplied by the SCOK.  For more information or to reserve one of the limited spots for the “Arrive and Drive” on the 30th, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

The So Cal Oval Karters would like to thank the following sponsors who help make the series possible.  Burris Racing, Cory Kruseman Sprint Car Driving School,, Perris Auto Speedway, Professional Announcer Chappy, R&J Motorsports, THC Home Medical Services, T-MAC Racing and Yoa Racing Engines.  If you would like to become a part of the So Cal Oval Karters 2015 season, please call or E-mail Mike Nigh at (805) 857-2595 or

1. Brody Roa – Garden Grove
2. Don Amigliore – Menifee
3. Troy Patton – Cherry Valley
4. Randy Truax – San Diego
5. Tyler Wilson – Long Beach
6. Rob Marion – Oxnard
7. Matt Drottz – Long Beach
8. Rev Parker
9. Chris Elmhorst
10. Cliff Kane
11. Greg Griffin – Palm Desert
12. Tucker Craven
13. Brandon Cunningham – Corona
14. Ted Marshall

Open Class
1. Cody Nigh – Camarillo
2. Chad Griggs – Lakeside
3. Darren Elliott – Santa Monica
4. Steve Patton – Cherry Valley
5. Todd Cunningham – Corona
6. Kellee Griggs – Lakeside
7. David Holland – DNS
8. Norm Reynolds San Marcos – DNS

SR 4 Cycle
1. Jason Voss
2. Matt Martis – Bonita
3. Garrett Schill – Riverside
4. Desiree Gaynor – Banning
5. Aubrey Oppelt – Lake Elsinore
6. John Franchini
7. Mason Wilson

1. Troy McIntosh – Lake Elsinore
2. Matt Drottz – Long Beach
3. Scott Gaynor – Banning
4. Steve Juillerat – Whittier
5. Justin Garcia – Riverside

Please follow and like us:

EKN Global Members Discussion: