GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Round 4, Father’s Day Marks Halfway Point in Series

GoPro Motorplex logoHot temperatures and sunny skies gave way to Round Four of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge this afternoon. The completion of Round Four marked the halfway point in the eight-round series, shifting drivers’ focus to the battle for a year-end division championship.

We celebrated our race dads with a special Father’s Day breakfast, followed by a rental kart race. A full field of 21 dads got behind the wheel for three laps of qualifying and an intensely, competitive eight-lap race. We are hoping their sons and daughters weren’t taking any driving notes because the race was wild to say the least! Congrats to the top-three finishers; Anthony Mooneyham, Chuck Gafrarar and Ben Carey. Special thanks to all dads who participated and who chose to spend their day at GoPro Motorplex!

Tyler Maxson, Nick Losito (2), Braden Eves, Peter Michel, Ashlyn Breuer, Neil Verhagen, Justin Halliday, Alex Verhagen, Josh Wilson, Reinaldo Moloon, Billy Duff and Mark Manno were all final winners in Round Four today.

Rotax Micro Max Division
In the Micro Max Division, it was all about Tyler Maxson, qualifying on the pole, winning the pre-final and final race. However, he had his work cut out for him, fighting off tough competition from fellow competitors. In just lap four of the final, Aiden Baker Crouse took the lead from Maxson at the start-finish line. Crouse was able to hold on for a lap before Maxson overtook him on the front stretch.

The third and fourth place drivers, Rylee Engel and William Robusto, had the best seat in the house; right behind the close battle between Maxson and Crouse. In turn 10 of the last lap, Crouse spun allowing Maxson to take the win and Robusto and Engel to grab second and third.

Rotax Senior Division
Nick Losito once again dominated the Rotax Senior field, taking the win in the final by five seconds over Justin Neu and Varun Choksey.

Rotax Junior Division
Braden Eves was the driver to beat in the Rotax Junior division, collecting the pre-final and final wins. In the final, Eves stretched out to a nine-second lead on the field. However, Blake Hunt and Kaitlyn Melton had a close battle going for most of the race. Melton even closed onto the bumper of Hunt a couple times, but was never able to complete the pass for second. Eves took the win, followed by Hunt and Melton.

Yamaha Division
Peter Michel scored the win in the Yamaha Senior final and Ashlyn Breuer earned the final win in the Yamaha Junior division, followed by Charles Krett in second place.

TaG Junior Division
Once again, young drivers, Myles Rowe and Neil Verhagen, put on an impressive two-driver show in the TaG Junior division. After multiple lead changes throughout the race, Verhagen delivered the final blow, making a pass on the last lap in the hairpin corner to take the win, followed by Rowe in second.

TaG Masters Division
Justin Halliday took the win in the TaG Masters division final race. Bad luck plagued Randy Sampson for most of the day, spinning in the hairpin in the pre-final and breaking a chain in the final with a huge lead on the field. Caio Campos finished second and Sampson in third.

TaG Senior Division
Nick Losito won the TaG Senior final against a field of 21 competitors. Predictably, turn one carnage eliminated several karts on lap one. A tough battle between Chuck Tate, Dusty Davis and Sam Watson for second place was exactly what Losito wanted to see, allowing him to check out to a large lead on the field. However, in turn four, Davis made his move on Tate to take second position. Davis then motioned to find a drafting partner to help reel in Losito’s lead, but no one was close enough to answer his call. Losito went on to win, followed by Davis and Justin Neu.

Mini Max Division
It was the Alex Verhagen show in the Mini Max division as he won the pre-final and final races. Verhagen’s win didn’t come without intense pressure from his competitors, Sam Louis Tisdale and Enzo Fittipaldi. With 11 laps to go, Tisdale made a pass for the lead in turn four, but on the same lap Verhagen regained the lead. The entire race was filled with great passes from the top-three drivers, mostly in turn four. In a last-lap pass in the hairpin turn, Verhagen edged out Fittipaldi for the lead and the win. Tisdale also completed an impressive pass exiting the last turn coming to the checkered flag to take second from Fittipaldi. After a great drive, luck just wasn’t on Fittipaldi’s side, but he held on for third place.

Briggs Division
Josh Wilson took the win in the Briggs Senior Heavy division, followed by J.T. Swygert and Chris Teis.
In the Briggs Senior Light division, Reinaldo Moloon scored the win, followed by Jim Strowd.
Billy Duff and Alison Cody finished first and second in the Briggs Junior division.
Mark Manno won the Briggs Cadet final.

Kid Kart Division
Riley Sampson, Damian Gutierrez, Jayden Park, Caleb Gafrarar, Sam Corry and Danny Dyszelski all participated in our Kid Kart division race. Congrats to all!

Round Four Results:
For a complete list of final results and points standings from Round Four of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge, CLICK HERE.

To view the album of GoPro pictures from Round Four, CLICK HERE. (Scroll to bottom of page)

UP NEXT: GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Double-Header Round Five and Six, August 23, 24. The GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge will be back in action with a doubleheader weekend for Rounds Five and Six on August 23 and 24. Each segment of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge consists of two rounds of practice, qualifying, prefinal and final races for all classes. To pre-register for Rounds Five or Six, CLICK HERE.

EKN Global Members Discussion: