Florida Karting Championship Series Continues Its Successful Season

Competitors and families enjoy the holiday weekend in Orlando

Florida Karting Championship Series logoRound two of the Florida Karting Championship Series (FKCS) at Orlando Kart Center in Orlando, Florida proved to be not only a perfect weekend for competitors, but also for their families. The racing, weather, and festivities all came together to make FKCS Round two a race that was fun for absolutely everyone.

In celebration of the Easter holiday weekend, the series hosted an Easter egg hunt for younger children. Prizes included beanies, a hoodie, chains, and a set of Mojo and Bridgestone tires courtesy of Grand Products and MAXSpeed Group.

“We like to remember that this is a family oriented event,” said series president Eddie Gennaro, “Getting not only the racers, but also their siblings and parents involved is very important to us.”

Perfect weather all weekend led to clean, competitive racing. With repeating the success of the first round of the FKCS, the organizers look forward and hope to continue the great racing and events through the rest of the season.


Kid Kart – Owen Lloyd cleaned up earning pole position in qualifying, and keeping his place to win first place in both the prefinal and the main event. Nikita Johnson earned second place behind him in both the prefinal and final.

Mini Rok – In a field of 14 karts, Juan Jose Diaz won the prefinal and stole the top prize in the final race. Behind him in second place was Tyler Gonzalez and Zachary Hollingshead. Rounding up the top-five in the Mini Rok final were Ryan Rackley and Jeff Noland.

Cadet – Dylan Gennaro swept up the Cadet class with top positions in qualifying, the prefinal, and the final. Second place in the main event and third place in the prefinal went to Landon Kelly, while the opposite places went to Zachary Hollingshead.

Clone Jr. – Nash Duyn claimed top of the podium in the final after winning the prefinal.

Parilla Jr. – All the action was focused on Seve DePinto in Parilla Jr., who drove to the win each time on track. Behind him in the final were Devin Bowerman in second place, and Vincenzo Sarracino in third place.

Rotax Jr. – Sitting in the pole position for the prefinal led Bradley Zilisch to winning it, but he did not manage to repeat the feat in the main event. In first place was Chase Acklam for the final, followed by Zilisch and Mayo Livingston in second and third place respectively.

Rok Jr. – The small class of two drivers saw Austin Garrison besting Mathias Ramirez in both the qualifying and prefinal. However, Garrison did not start the final, leaving Ramirez for the automatic win.

Clone Sr. – Glenn Fichter and Jason Froemming earned first and second place finishes in all three of the Clone senior events on Saturday.

Rok Sr. – Rok Sr. was overthrown by Ocala Gran Prix (OGP) drivers. Kyle Kirkwood earned pole position in qualifying, going on to place second in the prefinal and third in the final. Female driver Morgan Healy won the prefinal ahead of her teammates, and Oliver Askew won the main event with Jonathan Kotyk finishing in second.

TaG Sr. – One of the larger classes running, the 13 kart field was dominated by Mike Pagano. Behind the triple winner, Jacob Duvall claimed second place in both the prefinal and final. The top-five finishers in the final after Pagano and Duvall were Aren Smith, Scott Roberts, and Mike Andrews Jr.

All Shifters – Oliver Askew was not only the winner of the Shifter main event, but also the prefinal winner and top qualifier. Askew’s OGP teammate Nick Neri finished in second place in both the prefinal and final. Finishing third through fifth were Johnathan Kotyk, Morgan Healy, and Ben Hankinson.


Kid Kart – Similar to Saturday’s result, Owen Lloyd once again cleaned up in the Kid Kart class, with Nikita Johnson close behind.

Mini Rok – Dylan Gennaro would take the Mini Rok victory on Sunday as he stole the show in the main event. Tyler Gonzalez would add another podium result with a second place showing followed by Juan Jose Diaz, Zachary Hollingshead and Ryan Rackley.

Micro Max – After earning third place in the prefinal, Humberto Porrata swept in for first place in the final race. Following him in second place was Jo Nunez, the second place prefinal finisher, and in third place Ryan Rackley, the winner of the prefinal.

Mini Max – Juan Jose Diaz, Dylan Gennaro, and Tyler Gonzalez took home first, second and third in the Mini Max main event. The young drivers had maintained their positions from the prefinal, where they finished in the same order.

TaG Jr. – Seve DePinto continued his nearly complete theft of the entire weekend’s first place finishes on Sunday, qualifying on pole and finishing first in the prefinal, he was well set up to win the final. However, he encountered difficulties and ended up in second place. Ahead of him in the final was Vincenzo Sarracino.

Rok Sr. – Winner of Saturday’s Rok Sr. final Oliver Askew once again took home top of the podium on Sunday. Askew was once again followed by his teammates in the prefinal and final. Jonathan Kotyk earned third place in the prefinal and second in the final, while Kyle Kirkwood earned second and third.

Rotax Sr. – Repeating his feats on Saturday, Mike Pagano managed another triple win in Rotax Sr. Kaven Mendes finished behind him for second place, while Smith Ryan was disqualified.

Parilla Sr. – Aren Smith won not only the prefinal, but also the final in Parilla Sr. In third place for the final was Matt Blair, who also finished second in the prefinal. Coming home second in the final was Tyler Smith.

TaG Masters – Sweeping the TaG Masters class on Sunday was Scott Roberts, winning all three events of the day. In the final, he was followed by Brad Sanders, who was second place in the prefinal as well, and Kevin Coy.

The next FKCS race will be May 17-18 at Homestead Karting, located on the grounds of the Homestead-Miami Speedway in Homestead, FL. As the season really warms up, the series coordinators will continue to ensure that FKCS is a fun and worthwhile event for all who attend.

Please remember that all news and information regarding the Florida Karting Championship Series can be found online at www.FLWKASprintSeries.com.

For information on press releases or other media services offered by Race Tech Development, please contact Mike Maurini via e-mail at Info@RaceTechDevelopment.com or 317.270.8723. Race Tech Development can also be found on Twitter at @RaceTechDvlp as well as Facebook at their Race Tech Development Fan Page.

EKN Global Members Discussion: