KAM Kartway Announces the 2013 Skeen’s Diesel Serives Championship Roster

Ty Rodriguez is named the KAM Rookie of the Year presented by Sunshield Winner's Circle

The 2013 Skeen’s Diesel Services Season Championship Points Series wrapped up and the Championship Cups have been ordered.  Due to scheduling conflicts the awards presentation, which is traditionally held the end of October with a Halloween theme party, will not be scheduled until January. Congratulations to our new Track Champions: Tori Tyer, Austin Piper, Conner Montgomery, Shane Marquez, Sammy Davis, Drew Komarek and Perry Cummings.   In addition to announcing the Championship, KAM Kartway is proud to announce our KAM Rookie of the Year honors go to Animal Gold Plate Driver Ty Rodriguez.

While KAM Kartway has had a long standing reputation for tough competitive racing, this year seamed to add a whole new element of talent and skill.  Our Adult Clone class saw a healthy growth in kart count with the new drivers showing that they are just as serious as the veterans about their racing program.  The competiveness was intense at times, but the camaraderie between the drivers was evident.  For our youth racers it sets a great example of sportsmanship when they see the same top 3 to 5 Clones battle it out on the track and then handshakes all around in the Winner’s Circle.

The Hot Wheels class almost doubled in size from last year with about 90% of the field being Rookie Drivers.  Following our Driver Development progression, 14 drivers moved up to the Pure Stock Class growing the field to 30 Registered Drivers.   The drivers in this class put on some of the best racing at KAM this year and the progression of skill combined with sheer determination accelerated the competitiveness to another level.  Due to the number of race entries each week calling for a B-Main to qualify half the field for an A-Main Feature, these young drivers got a taste of how the “Big Boys” do it adding to the fan favorite popularity and nail-biting element races.   More impressive is the fact that over half of the top 10 Season Points Champion drivers in this class were first time Pure Stockers.

In addition to producing our Rookie of the Year, our Animal Gold Plate Class Champion is a second generation KAM Kartway Driver.   Shane Marquez is the son of a former adult class driver from a few years back, but the family plan doesn’t stop with him as baby sister, Megan showed off some amazing driving talent as well and took 2nd place honors in the Hot Wheels class.

The title in the Animal class goes to a former KAM Rookie of the Year, Sammie Davis who by the middle of the season was pulling double duty as he raced in two different classes.  Davis joined a number of veteran drivers in the ever growing Outlaw 250 class.  This class is an advanced class that requires professional level driving skills.  It has exploded in popularity and visibility with drivers like Kyle Larson making the transition from Outlaw Dirt Karts to NASCAR .

The leaders in the Outlaw class consistently demonstrate that their level of talent is worthy of similar transitions with a fiercely competitive battle for the checker flag at each event.  Those skills developed with years of experience and dedication for class leaders Ben Saye, Drew Komarek, Jett Hays and Pierce Urbanosky who all started in beginner classes at KAM and have numerous Wins, Awards and Championships between the four.  In fact the leaders were so close that it actually came down to a tie in the end.  Using the total number of feature wins as the tie breaker, Komarek was declared the Class Champion.

Following are the Championship results from our season:


Hot Wheels ~ Class Champion ~ Tori Tyer

2nd Place Megan Marquez

3rd Place Payton Palanza

4th Place Case Harris

5th Place Tori Bennett


3.5 HP ~ Class Champion ~ Austin Piper

2nd Place – Jacob Skeen

3rd Place – Haley Gary

4th Place – Landen Zakalowski

5th Place – Westin Palanza


Pure Stock ~ Class Champion ~ Conner Montgomery

2nd Place – Zoie Pierce

3rd Place – Mitchell Mobley

4th Place – Ty Cruze

5th Place – Ayden Rogers

6th Place – Sean Knox

7th Place – Jeremy Walker

8th Place – Wes Knox

9th Place – Joe Contente

10th Place – Travis Miller

11th Place – Michael Buck


Animal Gold Plate ~ Class Champion ~ Shane Marquez

2nd Place – Ty Rodriquez

3rd Place – Austin Harris

4th Place – Collin Montgomery

5th Place – Ryan Begando


Animal ~ Class Champion ~ Sammy Davis

2nd Place – JC Haddock

3rd Place – Collin Montgomery

4th Place – Tucker Perry

5th Place – Cody Pound


Outlaw 250 ~ Class Champion ~ Drew Komarek

2nd Place – Pierce Urbanosky

3rd Place – Ben Saye

4th Place – Sarah Walls

5th Place – Jett Hays


Adult Clone ~ Class Champion ~ Perry Cummings

2nd Place – Jamie Benke

3rd Place – Charles Pou

4th Place – Bob Petell

5th Place – Jason Tyer


Based in North Texas KAM Kartway is one of the region’s leading consultancies and design firms specializing in synergy services.

KAM Kartway uses Speednet Direct to report race results and compute points standings.  Follow this link for a listing of the final points results for each class with all racers who participated in 2013. >> http://www.speednetdirect.com/points.php?track_id=9215&nav_step=results

EKN Global Members Discussion: