Series News: GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge Round Eight Completes Doubleheader Weekend

Two-Race Shootout for the Championship Remains

GoPro Motorplex logoRound Eight of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge concluded this weekend’s doubleheader event. Round Eight of the 10-race series brings the championship down to just a two-race shootout. Several drivers were able to capitalize on the doubleheader event this weekend, scoring two wins and advancing substantially in their championship battles.

Jordan Heffner, Neil Verhagen, Derek Dignan, Mitch Goldfarb, Gresham Wagner, Caleb Tate and Justin Halliday all scored final wins in Round Eight of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge this afternoon.

The Micro Max division racing didn’t disappoint again today, with Jordan Heffner scoring her second win of the weekend in one of the best races of the day.  Alex Verhagen won the pre-final after following Hannah Greenemeier’s lead the entire race. Greenemeier was incredibly strong in the final too, leading the entire race until the white flag.

The battle of the day was between the top-three drivers of Greenemeier, Verhagen and Heffner.  When the white flag came out, Heffner made the move she had been patiently waiting to do for 14 laps. In a single lap, Heffner passed up Verhagen in Turn Four and maneuvered around Greenemeier in the Hairpin Turn to secure the lead. Verhagen followed Heffner’s lead and tucked in behind her to secure second position. Greenemeier fell back to finish fourth after a strong run. For a finish, Heffner took the win, followed by Verhagen and Jeremy Fairbairn. Greenemeier continues to lead the championship with a 65 points lead over Pauly Massimino.

The second sweep of the weekend came in the Mini Max division for Neil Verhagen, backing up his win yesterday with another final win today. Verhagen’s biggest competition came from Enzo Fittipaldi. In the pre-final, their battle came down to a side-by-side photo finish, with Fittipaldi winning by mere inches over Verhagen. The hard battle continued into the final as Verhagen trailed Fittipaldi’s lead until Verhagen made the pass for the lead in the Hairpin Turn with five laps to go. Verhagen went on to win the final, followed by Joseph Lamberth and Blake Hunt. Fittipaldi was disqualified following post-race inspection. Verhagen continues to lead the championship by 110 points.

In the Rotax Senior division, it was Derek Dignan who scored the win in the final. However, it was Roger Ralston, Jr. who dominated the pre-final flag-to-flag. Ralston was dominating the 20-lap final before an unfortunate incident with a lap kart knocked him off pace for just long enough to allow Dignan and Dusty Davis to sneak by. Ralston fell from first to third, but with five laps to go, he passed Davis back for second place. Dignan had gained too large of a lead for Ralston to reel in before the checkered flag flew. Dignan crossed the line in first, followed by Ralston and Davis. Nick Losito leads the championship, 290 points over second place.

Mitch Goldfarb dominated the Rotax Junior division by qualifying on the pole with a 50.914-second lap, winning the pre-final and the 20-lap final. Goldfarb led the entire race with consistently quick laps. Joey Essma had a notable performance as well, racing his way from last to finish second in the final race. Alex Sullivan brought home third position. Essma leads the points battle, 145 points over second place.

Derek Dignan scored the win in the 20-lap TaG Senior final. He battled off the late entries of Ralston and Davis. Both Ralston and Davis drove from the tail end of the field to finish in second and third, respectively. Peter Lobona leads the championship.

Justin Halliday tacked on another win in the TaG Masters division, adding to his win from yesterday’s final. Kevin York finished second, followed by Bob Speiss. Halliday leads the championship by 180 points.

Gresham Wagner placed first in the Yamaha Junior division and Garrit Speiss and Abby Sinon rounded out the top-three. Speiss leads the championship.

Caleb Tate finished in first place in the Yamaha Sportsman division.

For a complete list of final results and points standings from Round Eight of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge, CLICK HERE.

To view the album of GoPro photos from the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge, CLICK HERE.

GoPro Motorplex is hosting a special six-race championship for Rotax Micro Max and Mini Max competitors that will send the Champion in each division to the Micro and Mini NOLA Invitational Rotax MAX Challenge that will run alongside of the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals on November 13-16 at NolaMotorsportsPark. For the current Rotax Micro Max and Mini Max Points Standings for this additional Championship: CLICK HERE.

The GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge will be back in action on Sunday, Oct. 13 for Round Nine. Each segment of the GoPro Motorplex Karting Challenge consists of two rounds of practice, qualifying, prefinal and final races for all 13 classes. IMPORTANT: Round Nine will follow a slightly modified event schedule than the previous eight rounds, so please stay tuned for details!

EKN Global Members Discussion: