Aussie News: CIK Stars of Karting – Beckley Park Report

Jake Klein takes debut win in torrid weekend for frontrunners

Jake Klein on his victory in Pro Junior (KFJ)
(Photo: AF Images-Budd)

Jake Klein (Caroline Springs, Vic) took a memorable first up Pro Junior (KFJ) win at Geelong’s Beckley Park in the third round of the CIK Stars of Karting Series presented by Castrol EDGE in a weekend that had serious Championship implications across the board.

Joining Klein on the winner’s list was Redspeed’s Pierce Lehane (Castle Hill, NSW) in Pro Light (KF) and last round winner, Joey Hanssen (Netherlands – residing in Melbourne) who has charged to the outright Pro Gearbox (KZ2) Championship lead.

Klein put together a masterful race to lead a Victorian trifecta in the Pro Junior (KFJ) category. With a handful of laps remaining, Arrow pilot William Hawkes led the way however Klein got around him, with Damon Strongman bouncing back to third after a tough round two.

Earlier in the day, Strongman won the first final – his second of the season – and has his Championship back on track.

“I really can’t put it into words how it feels,” said Klein after the race. “I didn’t think I would be up the front this quickly but to win, especially in Geelong is a great feeling.

“The competition is very tough and it was a great race. I had to work hard to fight it out with William, but in the end we got the job done, so I am extremely happy for my entire crew.”

In a day that will be long remembered as having serious Championship implications across all three classes, Junior Championship leader coming into round three, Liam McLellan didn’t finish either of the finals.

In the Pro Light (KF) category, twice Pro Junior (KFJ) Champion, Pierce Lehane made a successful return to CIK competition for the Redspeed team – making its Stars of Karting debut – setting an almost perfect weekend by taking out both finals.

In the second final this afternoon, he beat out resurgent Queenslander, Brock Plumb and South Australian Ben Edwards who had a hard fought battle right to the line with Mitchell Gee. Gee had his best performance of the Series so far, the Harrington Doyle Racing pilot putting behind him much of the bad luck that has plagued his 2013 with a pair of fourths.

At the top end of the Championship hunt, leader heading into the weekend, Matthew Waters had a terrible round, unable to get a purchase on the Geelong circuit. Several incidents in the second final saw him come across the line as the final finisher in 13th.

Waters’ nearest Championship combatant at the start of the weekend, round two winner, George Geranis had a solid final one finishing in the top five, however was a non-finisher in the second final due to an engine seizure. PCR’s Nathan Tigani continued his strong form with a pair of top five finishes.

Dutch World Cup Champ, Joey Hanssen showed that a switch to Shamick Racing’s CRG outfit between rounds didn’t harm his progress, establishing a clear Championship lead after winning his second final in succession.

He finished second in the opening final behind John Grother, who had a superb weekend with the Chupa Chups Energy. Grother was on for a double up in final two before a gearshift problem hampered his progress, dragging his ailing Energy to the finish line after leading the race by over two seconds.

Finishing behind the 21-year-old European was a pair of karting veterans in Kel Treseder and Matthew Wall.

Aiding Hanssen’s ascension to the top of the leaderboard was a weekend to forget for defending Australian Pro Gearbox Champion, Chris Hays. After a torrid run in the heats, Hays struck back to sixth in final one before an opening lap incident placed him deep in the pack. He was able to fight back to a disappointing, by his standards, 13th placed finish.

The Pro Junior Blackberry Powerful Award for this round was awarded to Canberra Tony Kart 12-year-old, Joshua Fife. By virtue of his provisional status, he has to start each race from the rear of grid and forged his way through to finish sixth in the second final.

The Adidas Motorsport All Star Award went to another Junior in Callum Walker. The Queenslander has showed great improvement throughout the 2013 season and despite some technical issues throughout the weekend showed that he has the pace to be a regular podium challenger in the Series.

In the Support Categories for the 2013 CIK Stars of Karting, presented by Castrol EDGE, Luke May made a successful return to the sport adding the State Championship for Dunlop Kartsport TaG Heavy to his extensive CV, whilst local racer Dean Foster won the TaG Light State title.

Cooper Murray continued his good form in the Rookies taking a solid victory, whilst in the TaG Restricted category, Jamie Robertson took out the Light Division and Luke Germanchis the Heavies.

The CIK Stars of Karting Series presented by Castrol EDGE moves onto Sydney at the end of July before returning to Melbourne’s Todd Road Circuit for its finale over the weekend of September 21-22.

2013 CIK Stars of Karting Series presented by Castrol EDGE
Round 3 – Geelong, Victoria

Pro Gearbox (KZ2)
1. Joey Hanssen (Netherlands) – CRG/LKE
2. Kel Treseder (Bundaberg, QLD) – Energy/TM
3. Matthew Wall (Sunbury, VIC) – CRG/TM
4. Lee Mitchener (Greensborough, VIC) – Formula K/TM
5. Aaron Ivermee (Point Cook, Vic) – Formula K/BMB

Pro Light (KF)
1. Pierce Lehane (Sydney, NSW) – Redspeed/IAME
2. Brock Plumb (Forest Lake, QLD) – Arrow/IAME
3. Ben Edwards (Adelaide, SA) – CRG/IAME
4. Mitchell Gee (Caloundra, QLD) – Kosmic/IAME
5. Nathan Tigani (Sydney, NSW) – PCR/IAME

Pro Junior (KFJ)
1. Jake Klein (Caroline Springs, VIC) – FA Kart/Vortex
2. William Hawkes (Lara, VIC) – Arrow/Vortex
3. Damon Strongman (Frankston, VIC) – Hasse/Vortex
4. Chris Sandrone (Sydney, NSW) – Exprit/Vortex
5. Matthew Foyle (Cairns, QLD) Kosmic/Vortex

Dunlop Kartsport TaG 125 Light
1. Dean Foster
2. Scott Andrews
3. Michael Carless
4. Darren Burke
5. Adam Mercer

Dunlop Kartsport TaG 125 Heavy
1. Luke May
2. Rick Pringle
3. Kip Foster
4. Jamies Reid
5. Michael Saller

1. Cooper Murray
2. Jai Sparey
3. Jordan Caruso
4. Oscar Piastri
5. Cody Brewcynski

TaG 125 Restricted Light
1. Jamie Robertson
2. Kyle Henry-Smith
3. William Hopkinson
4. Sean Barnardo
5. Michael Buckley

TaG 125 Restricted Heavy
1. Luke Germanchis
2. Shaun Field
3. Stephane Majman
4. Andrew Freeman
5. Peter McDonald

Championship Points
After 3 of 5 rounds

Pro Gearbox (KZ2)
1. Joey Hanssen – 382 points
2. Chris Hays – 356
3. Matthew Wall – 316
4. Jason Pringle – 298
5. Troy Bretherton – 290

Pro Light (KF)
1. George Geranis – 364 points
2. Matthew Waters – 343
3. Brooke Topp – 303
4. Troy Loeskow – 298
5. Jordan Nicolaou – 292

Pro Junior (KFJ)
1. Liam McLellan – 332 points
2. James Abela – 305
3. Christopher Sandrone – 299
4. Damon Strongman – 294
5. Andrew Kahl – 293

EKN Global Members Discussion: