Home Forums Tech Talk Why don't we string karts?

This topic contains 13 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  Jordon Musser 9 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I’ve only started karting this year, but I have plenty of experience working at a local FF2000 prep shop doing alignments. We always used the string method to set toe, so I am confused why more people don’t do this in the karting world. The options I am seeing are lasers, which probably work well but are expensive, and toe plates, which I don’t really like because you can only set total toe. Stringing the kart on the ground has the added advantage of the driver sitting in the kart to get more useful readings.

Is there something I’m missing?

Jim White
    Participant

I’ve been using the string method for years. It’s cheap and accurate when done properly. I’m amazed that more people don’t do it that way.

tony zambos
    Participant

I’m going to take a wild guess and say that most people don’t align their karts by using a string is because they never seen it done and have no idea as to how to do it. That simple.

LAD Specialties / tony kart / rotax / kt100

Mike Clark
    Participant

I have seen the string method advocated by some on rare occasions. Same for verifying other aspects of the chassis such as squareness.

I think a lot of people love gadgets and trust anything hi tech as being superior.

That said I have no intention of ever again attempting to drive a kart I have not verified the chassis on. I am tired of being the guy with the yellow karting shoes!

I am currently trying to set up our shop to be able to do some chassis checks on a regular a basis.

Patrick Roth
    Participant