Home Forums Shifter Karts When to open bottom end?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  William Martin 1 year ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Jimmy Callaway
    Participant

Hello all,

I got a stock cr125 shifter a few months ago and am looking for some engine advice. I’ve never run a 2 stroke so I’m experiencing a bit of a steep learning curve. A few weeks back I broke a ring from running too lean. The weather cooled off a bit and I didn’t correct the jetting. Did I mention I’m new to this? Anyway, broke off a section of ring. Pressumably got it hot, bottomed out the ring gap and caught the ring on the edge of the exhaust port. This slotted the cylinder pretty nicely and tore up the piston. Rebuilt the top end with a replacement cylinder and new piston. I also fattened up the mixture. The first time running it after the rebuild I killed the engine again! It ran fine (and cool) but when trying to restart it it was extremely tough to turn over and it wasn’t even trying to fire up.

<span style=”line-height: 1.5;”>This time the piston face and head were dimpled and burred as though the engine ingested metal. Also there is a ring sized slot in the piston and cylinder at the exhaust port. The new ring was all there so the new ring didn’t fail.</span>

<span style=”line-height: 1.5;”>It appears there were some left overs from the first blow up in the bottom end that came up the transfer port and caused trouble.</span>

My question is:

1) should you always split the case when you break a ring to make sure everything is out of the engine? Or are there other ways to clean bits out of the bottom end with just the cylinder off?

2) is there any way to tell if the rod bearing is damaged from chewing up the metal or getting shavings in the rollers?

Thanks.

Jimmy

William Martin
    Participant