Home Forums Briggs & Stratton 4-Cycle Racing Weight distribution with LO206

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Ronald Salas 8 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

David Keadle

I’m new to karting, and bought a used Birel RY30 and a new LO206 for my son to race JR Briggs (restricted) this year.  I’ve read that you want weight distribution to be about 42% front/58% rear and 50/50 left to right in general for sprint karts.

We weighed his kart and it’s about right front to back, but has significantly more weight on the right than the left (I’m assuming because of the engine).  Is this the norm for 4 stroke karts since they don’t have a battery and radiator on the left?  Should I add ballast to the left?  Also, is the 42/58 front to rear distribution correct for the lower power 4 stroke karts?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

• This topic was modified 9 months, 3 weeks ago by  David Keadle.

Richard Gordon

Not uncommon. How much does your son weight? Follow manufacture guidelines for seat mounting location. You might want to see if you can move the seat and engine more to the left. Usually as far left as possible. You might still need to add weight to the left side of the seat. Also with a light driver, you will probably need to raise the height of the seat to get the weight higher to get more lateral grip. Front to rear is probably good. Hope this helps.

Ronald Salas

Hey David