Home Forums General Karting Discussion Track/Trailer Essentials?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Rod Hawkins 4 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Adam Gorrell
    Participant

Hows it going EKN? So I have done some searching and havent come up with much so I figured I would ask here.

I am new to Karting. I have 2 Rotax Karts and 2 Stock Moto Shifter Karts. I just picked up a brand new 7×14 Trailer for the hauling. I am looking to get the inside of the trailer dialed for my Support Rig.

I am looking on input as to what some of you would consider your most essential gear and how much to have of spares and extras.

I am not going to be competing this year or next year probably but may by the end of the year next year. I have roughly 12 OTK Axles, 40+ tires (Rain and Slicks), tons of gears, jets, etc. My question I guess is, Do I need or should I have everything with me at all times? I mean I obviously know if I go to my local tracks for the day if I will need rain tires or not so I am not worried about that but what would be a good number of spare tires to have on hand for each kart? I wont be taking all 4 karts out at the same time (Sometime I might with friends).

If you were to have 1 Kart with a trailer. What would you have one you every time at the track? I can figure that out and basically multiply it by 4 to make sure I have the essential stuff on me at all times. I know I need to invest in something like the Sniper V2 and I will for sure long before I start competing, but mainly just looking to go out to the track and have fun.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Adam

Walt Gifford
    Participant

Depends on your level of prep and how you handle yourself on the track. If you run stuff till it breaks you’ll need just about everything you have at the shop. I take a fuel jug, chain oil, air bottle and a small tool box.

Gif

FAA certified jet engine and aircraft technician,
    Nicholson Speedway class champion 2001,