Home Forums Chassis & Handling too much grip.is there such a thing?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  michael smith 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

michael smith
    Participant

ive read that there is no such thing as too much grip.

However what I experienced lately feels to me like just that.too much grip.

I have a clone, 8HP or so. My Kart came with used used mg yellow tires that were well worn. After dialing in max caster, and a few other changes, the Kart really Scoots.

Keep in mind I’m a heavy driver at 300 lbs and well over 6 ft tall.

At 1.5 seconds off the pace I thought maybe new slicks would cut that down a bit so I put some new mg yellows on.

Bad idea so far. IM pretty sure I bruised a rib within 20 laps, lap time is one second slower after playing with temps, and it takes ALL the effort to hold the Kart in a turn. I even pumped the tires up to 20 lbs to get it to slide with no luck.

So the question is-is there such a thing as too much grip?

TJ Koyen
    Participant

With a clone on MG Yellows, maybe you would encounter too much grip.

But you need to adapt your chassis to the grip level of the tires. Of course the handling will change with new tires. You probably don’t want full caster on brand new MG Yellows for example. Taking some “grip” out of the chassis by removing caster, narrowing front track, widening rear track, removing front torsion bars etc. will help counteract that massive grip increase you get from new tires and will make the kart much more usable.

Tim Koyen
    Participant

MG yellows at 20psi will probably not slide.  Try 10psi.

michael smith
    Participant

I well try all those things.ill also try the lower psi.i thought higher psi would make it slide but no bueno.

Well they remove rear grip as well, or just front grip?

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

Please describe the type of track you’re running at, for a better advise