Home Forums General Karting Discussion Some differences between Rotax and Leopard

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  TJ Koyen 3 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Tahseen Ibrahim
    Participant

I’m new to karting and thinking of getting a Rotax or a Leopard(My09 or earlier). I know there are many topics on this, and I have read them. I know about the differences in initial cost, rebuild times, overall performance, popularity, reliability, etc. My questions are more towards the ease of use for a beginner with limited knowledge of engines, differences in driving style needed, and tuning needed.

I don’t have much technical knowledge or experience working with engines, so I was wondering which engine would be easier for a beginner to maintain and use? Which engine needs more attention during a day at the track? More maintenance after a day at the track?  I’ve heard the Rotax is a bit more complicated, but I do not know to what extent.

I’ve also heard that the Leopard has more bottom-end torque and accelerates out of slow corners better. Does that mean there is difference in the way you have to drive both engines? Do you have to modulate/feather the throttle more on a Leopard because of the extra torque? Does one usually get more wheel spin than the other? I’ve heard the Rotax has a less responsive throttle. Is this true? I want more power to play with on slow corners. But I’m not sure if you apply throttle similarly on both engines, and one just has more kick.

And lastly, I’ve read that the Rotax is much more difficult to tune because of the carb and having to adjust jetting. But if I plan on only running 3-4 tracks will this be an issue? Or will I still always need to be constantly fidgeting with it regardless?

I don’t want to start an argument. Just looking for some additional knowledge from people who have run both engines to help me towards a decision.

Thanks.

TJ Koyen