Home Forums Chassis & Handling Slower at end of sessions?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Bernie Baldus 8 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Robby Bernard
    Participant

I’m new to karting, just picked a Rotax sr and only have a few weekends under my belt and am trying to get a better handle on chassis response and handling. The last time I went to the track, I noticed that the first 5 or so laps have been fairly consistent, within maybe a tenth or 2. After those first several laps, my lap times gradually slowed down till they were consistently about .5 seconds slower.  I have a feeling it is probably attributed to tire pressure/temps but I wanted to see what the general thoughts are.

In general, Im running near the end of life on my tires, which maybe has a larger factor than I am giving it credit for.  I also have a bit of uneven wear towards the inside of my front tires, which I think I need to address with camber adjustments.

Now before I get new tires, I will probably squeeze another weekend or two more out of my existing ones. If my late session slow laps  are likely a pressure problem, thats easy enough to play with. If its more likely chassis adjustment, is it worth chasing now or wait till I start with fresh tires? Any common adjustments that could help? I just need to make sure I continue to dominate over my friend who is also new to Rotax

Eric Gunderson
    Participant