Home Forums Shifter Karts Shifter Motor Project

This topic contains 10 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  mal crosher 1 month, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Gary Atkinson
    Participant

Hey guys!!

I want to build a shifter motor from purchasing a motor or bike. I have seen a website ( http://metal-matrix.com/stockmoto/ ) that compares the years of different motors and what may need to be done to make the stock moto. I do not race competitively, I am the weekend warrior that wants to do this on a budget but yet be somewhat competitive on the track.

I ma looking for some advice from you guys so i can learn from your mistakes or from your expertise.

I have been karting for about 3 years. I run a PRD on a CRG RR.

Gary

Chris Reinhardt
    Participant

Don’t waste your time building a “bike” motor, either buy a new kit or buy a used complete setup…

If you do a bike motor, you’ll need a 97 or back CR125 for the 6 speed, or use a newer donor and find a 6 speed on ebay and pray no gears are bad…

A decent ignition would be a 99 and up with the same year box, then you’ll need a carb setup and fuel system, pipe and pipe mount, motor mount, and J shifter….

It’s way cheaper to buy a used motor setup for a kart and bolt it on….

Good luck….

James McMahon
    Participant

Gary what’s your budget? A CR125 stock honda “kit” might be the best way to go for what you are planning.  Like Chris said taking a motor off a bike can be a can of worms. A “good” motoX motor can come to pieces pretty quick when you put it under the stresses of a kart leaving your with time and money down the tubes.

If it’s for fun, hell skip the CR125 and just go to a CR250, it wont be much (if at all) faster than a CR125 but it will be TONS of fun and the damn thing will lug forever. Shark Shifter have all the parts you might need for either of these projects.

Gary Atkinson
    Participant

Chris and James,