Home Forums Shifter Karts SHIFTER ENGINE OPTIONS – A Guide for Noobs

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Donald Tran 2 weeks, 6 days ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Donald Tran
    Participant

I just picked up a shifter kart, however, information is fairly scattered on what engine to purchase – or what engine actually works.

Dozens of shifter karts are available on ebay & craigslist throughout the US, but as rollers. I’m new to the hobby so I have absolutely no clue on what will work as a bolt-on, what will work with minor modifications, or what won’t work at all. I’ve been all over the web looking for this sort of information, however, it seems that most information out there are for veterans rather than for someone who is absolutely clueless (me).

I’m not interested in competing at this time, I just want to get my kart up and running so I can learn more about them as I go. Things I’m curious about is:

– 2 stroke Motorcycle/dirt bike engines – are they an option? If so, what have people been using? I assume not as they don’t use liquid cooling, but karts use radiators.

– Are there such things as direct injected 2-stroke shifter engines?

– What are the top 3 go kart specific shifter engines people use? What are the reasons for using them?

– What engines have the most aftermarket support and spare parts? This is very important as I don’t want to run into an issue where I can’t easily obtain a part.

I appreciate all your support and information. Photos of my kart below. It’s a 2002 Birel Shifter Kart.

Matt Martin
    Participant

– 2 stroke Motorcycle/dirt bike engines – are they an option? If so, what have people been using? I assume not as they don’t use liquid cooling, but karts use radiators.

Karts have primarily used 2-stroke motorcycle engines. The most popular are the 1999 CR125 w/ a 1997 CR125 6-speed gearbox. The 2001 is probably the 2nd most popular engine.