Home Forums Tech Talk Rotax mini evo upgraded motor bogs and dies. Help?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Christian Fox 2 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Josh Dutey
    Participant

So this is my situation, new to karting. We have 4 races under our belt. Ordered 2 mini evo kits, 1st race 1 kart runs perfect. 2nd kart runs perfect on the stand, went out for qualifying and only made it 50 yds bogged out and died. Ran perfect on stand again,, heat 1 finished. Heat 2 bogged and died 50 yards in, came back ran perfect on stand. Went out for main, 1/4 of a lap spun out then bogged and died. I’ve rechecked all connections, changed plug, motor is grounded as per instructions, I leave batteries on charger between heats and main. Cleaned the carb. Not sure what else to do. I’m a dad mechanic so these are new to me. We have no local shop. My rotax motor guy lives in another state. Kart ran perfect before upgrades. Anybody have some insight? Thank you

Samir Shah
    Participant

Check your spark plug. Is it way rich? Did you change to a much leaner jet? I am learning that the JR EVO jet is 115-125  vs 150-160 for the PREVO JR jet.

Josh Dutey
    Participant