Home Forums Chassis & Handling Rightward Pull and Shake

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Walt Gifford 2 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

David Carrier
    Participant

I purchase a used (but never used) Margay 4.2x and have managed to get a few track days on it and I absolutely love it.  My biggest complaint is that I’m struggling to get the alignment correct.  I’ve borrowed someone’s snipers and I have it set for 0 toe right now, but the kart still pulls hard to the right and I’m constantly fighting the pull around the track.  Additionally, at high speeds on a long straight the whole front end shakes.  I’m new to the sport and have exhausted all options that I can think of, does anyone have any insight?  I will note that the kart came with used tires (which I’m using) and my next best guess is that maybe they are out of round?  Thanks for the help.

-Dave

TJ Koyen

Sounds like you have an out of balance tire in front and some stagger issues. Grab a tape measure and measure the circumference of all the tires, I’m betting one of them is bigger on one side. And get some wheel weights and some duct tape and balance your fronts and see if that helps.

Driver/Coach/Wrench : Innovative Performance/Exprit
    Owner : Oktane Visual - www.oktanevisual.com
    www.facebook.com/oktanevisual
    www.instagram.com/oktanevisual

FREDDY SANDOVAL
    Participant

I agree with TJ, but another important thing to consider is: Is it a tire pull, or a geometry issue?

Best way to find out swap the 2  front tires around and drive it again, make sure your tire pressure is equal, if it pulls to the opposite side then it’s a tire, but if it continues to pull, then it’s mechanical.

Check your king pins, check your caster, I bet that kart was wrecked and the wheel is bent, the kart may pull if it has negative caster, or set back, and will vibrate if the wheel is slightly bent or the tire is out of balance.