Home Forums Shifter Karts Please help I need to know some basics

This topic contains 17 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Jim Derrig 3 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

Matt duncan
    Participant

hi there my name is Matt and I’m new to the kart world, I recently bought a italkart rapido 125 it has rear dual caliper brakes with a floating roter. It has a pretty cool looking master cylinder as well, the whole kart appeares to be in reasonable condition. The guy I bought it from spoke very highly of the kart and I just wanted to reach out and get some outside opinions on the rapido kart I’m very new to this and don’t know very much I would also like to know about maintaining the kart and were to begin general maitnence are there any pointers that can send me in the right direction? it would much appreciated thank you! Ps it’s a 2010 model

Patrick Roth
    Participant

Welcome to the kart world! While I don’t know anything about the specific model you bought I will throw some info out there to hopefully help you along.
    1) Do you know what class you are planning to run? You posted in the shifter kart forum and mention a “125”. This leads me to believe you have a 125cc shifter kart package. Is this correct? If so, what brand of motor do you have? The most popular is the stock Honda 125cc but there are several other 125cc motors out there.
    2) When you say “rear dual caliper brakes” do you mean you have two calipers on the rear rotor? I believe this was common to satisfy a dual braking system requirement in certain organizations. SKUSA is one of the big names when it comes to shifter karts and they require 4 wheel braking which means you need to have 3 calipers (1 for each front wheel and 1 for the rear axle).