Home Forums Chassis & Handling newbie question

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Ric mcDade 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Mike Braun
    Participant

I am just starting out in karting, with a former 2 stroke kart converted for LO206. The kart has been properly scaled for the 365 lb weight limit, and aligned with a Sniper v2. Front width is 47 inches and rear width is 55 inches on medium hubs. Tires are Bridgestone YLC.

Having read many of the topics here, I know that I need practice, practice and more practice. Having run a few sessions, I see how true this is. I know that I am a good ways from seeing the limit of the kart.

A couple questions.  My last session, I began with 10 psi all around, ran 8 -10 laps, and came in and immediately checked pressure. Fronts were now 12 psi, but the rears remained at 10 psi.  What should I learn from this? (Aside from driver faster 🙂 )

The handling of the kart seems reasonable in medium and faster turns, but my track has a series of slow corners that I am really struggling with. Have tried changing lines and apexes, but I am just bog slow. Are these two things possibly related?

Tips would be appreciated.

Ric mcDade
    Participant

I would think that would tell you that the Frts are workin harder than the rear, but certainly not by much. Probably need to hear more about what you experienced in handling, how the tires gripped etc.

Daniel Agee
    Participant